external hard drives what is the best?

I have one of these on the H3. It is powered by USB. I've never had a problem with it. It is always present in the DVR list but I do get a spin up delay when I go to watch something on it.
Screenshot_20181218-115127_Amazon%20Shopping.jpeg

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk

IMO, the Western Digital "My book" type external drives are superior. I've been using some for 9 years now, and never had one fail yet.

I wish I could say that. I bought a 4 TB My Book last year For my computer, And in less than six months it developed bad blocks. I think I’ve salvaged as much as I can but I hate to get rid of it because there are still things on there I want to try and move to my new EHD

Copy what several others have said - Western Digital. I prefer the blue label models (to clarify, I have my own external case). YMMV.

Hello radio guy…

Were you referring to my posting or someone else’s?

please allow me illustrate in words exactly what I’m talking about

I will copy it all below for your analysis…

Any input or response would be much appreciated!!!

Does RAID 1 actually WORK for Hopper 3 as a dependable and usable backup in case 1 of the RAID 1 drives fails?

I have a Dish Network Hopper 3

If 1 of the 2 drives in the external RAID 1 fails

And then you plug the other good drive directly into the hopper 3, doesn’t the Hopper 3 just automatically ERASE it and reformat it?

Therefore you will NOT have your usable back up.

And you’ve just LOST ALL of your recordings?

I really Really REALLY want to have my Hopper 3 recording’s backed up somehow!!!

I’m thinking about buying a 4 TB Western Digital My Book Duo

I was hoping that if I hook it up as a RAID 1 it will provide me with the dependable and usable BACK UP that I want so badly.

BUT will this back up be USABLE when 1 drive fails?

Or will it just get ERASED and reformatted when plugged back into the Hopper 3?