FCC filing for the T16 satellite (finally!)

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by HoTat2, Sep 13, 2018.

  1. HoTat2

    HoTat2 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    903
    Likes Received:
    226
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    AT&T/DIRECTV finally submitted the official filing for the long anticipated "T16" satellite.

    Notify going to License

    Haven't read the entire narrative yet, but looks to be just like T15 and destined for 103W?

    With T15 supposedly to move back there as well?

    Don't get it ...

    Was certain it was going to 101W to relieve T15 to go back to 103W.

    Oh well ... enjoy anyway ...


    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  2. nelson61

    nelson61 SatelliteGuys Pro
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Posts:
    4,685
    Likes Received:
    3,345
    Location:
    Where it's Warm
    Looking at the GIMS contours - just a simple conus+ type satellite with KA/BSS 17/24 Ghz/KU payload beams.
    Not licensed for KU transmission at the 103W location,
    I will convert it to Google Earth kmz for reference .
     
  3. nelson61

    nelson61 SatelliteGuys Pro
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Posts:
    4,685
    Likes Received:
    3,345
    Location:
    Where it's Warm
    Looks like a spare which could be parked at 103W.
    Or they could use one for KA and the other for BSS 17/24.
     
  4. HoTat2

    HoTat2 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    903
    Likes Received:
    226
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Yeah, but how is the SD transition going to work with both T15 and T16 having permanent assignments to 103W?

    One of them obviously has to remain at 101W for its needed Ku DBS band payload.

    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
  5. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    327
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    IA
    They obviously won't leave them both at 103. Since they are essentially identical I think it is very likely T15's "temporary" move to 101 will become permanent.

    The only reason they'd swap them back is if one of them has a hardware issue with a transponder or something (i.e. if one has a bad Ku transponder they'd want it at 103, if one has a bad Ka or RDBS transponder they'd want it at 101)
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  6. nelson61

    nelson61 SatelliteGuys Pro
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Posts:
    4,685
    Likes Received:
    3,345
    Location:
    Where it's Warm
    Factoid from the filing:

    "All new DIRECTV subscribers, and over 90% of the total DIRECTV customer base, subscribe to HD services"

    So something less than 2 million customers have SD service
     
  7. Juan

    Juan Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    18,828
    Likes Received:
    3,684
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
    What about those who have both?

    Sent from my SM-G950U using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
    harshness likes this.
  8. HoTat2

    HoTat2 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    903
    Likes Received:
    226
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    All DBS Ku MPEG-2 only receivers must go, whether on sole SD accounts or those mixed with HD receivers ...

    The big unknown though leading to all the speculation and debate is exactly how and on what schedule the old MPEG-2 DSS transmission format will disappear. And what (if anything at all for 110 and 119W) will replace it on the DBS transponders licensed to DIRECTV almost from its inception at 101, 110, and 119W.

    It assuredly seems the SD local spotbeams from 101 and 119W are the first to be all eliminated by sometime next year.

    As for what comes next after that. No one can state for certain, even though slice and others here can offer some very good guesses.

    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
  9. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    327
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    IA
    The last data point we had for SD subscribers was in 2013, when there were 5 million of them. So they've been doing a good job of getting rid of them via attrition.

    I wonder whether SD subscribers in an MPEG4 only market who have R22s instead of D1x are counted in that "over 90%" or not. Those people won't need upgrades.
     
  10. HoTat2

    HoTat2 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    903
    Likes Received:
    226
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    I wonder though with T15 now parked at 101W and will soon start lighting up its DBS Ku band payload. That even if (God forbid) T16 suffers a catastrophic launch failure next year, which would only garanttee T15 stays put until a replacement is built.

    Isn't it safe to say Hawaii subs. can soon select for new installs, or ditch their current AK/HI dish if they choose, for standard Slimlines. And PR subs. (while perhaps among the least of their concerns post-Maria) use SL3 LNBs. What with the CONUS+ spot mirrors for both carried by T15?

    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
  11. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,486
    Likes Received:
    7,834
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    I'd guess that the number of R22 only (no hd equipment) owners is very low.
     
  12. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    327
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    IA
    If T16 really will launch and go operational in Q1 of next year, then they must be in a real hurry to do something that made them move T15 to 101 and target T16's launch for 103.

    The only thing I can think of as far as what that "something" might be is that D5 is maybe on its last legs and they can't wait until T16 launches retire it and get Puerto Rico using 101 for their guide data etc. Given the timelines in the letters they've been sending out, I don't see how they can be ready to shut down the spot beams on 101 yet, which doesn't leave a lot of room for anything else to be the reason. They'd need to free up those spotbeams if they were going to migrate the contents of G3C or 119's CONUS to 101.
     
    goaliebob99 likes this.
  13. nelson61

    nelson61 SatelliteGuys Pro
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Posts:
    4,685
    Likes Received:
    3,345
    Location:
    Where it's Warm
    Directv always has been secretive about the condition of their satellites. They release no data. Dish is quite the opposite and documents degradation or fuel problems in their quarterly 10k reports.

    Sent from my SM-G955U1 using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  14. HoTat2

    HoTat2 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    903
    Likes Received:
    226
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Oh, much agreed ....

    In fact if it weren't for FCC public filing requirements and the analytical work of datadigesters on the iamanedgecutter site today, no doubt we'd know next to nothing about the technical details of DIRECTV's satellite fleet.


    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
  15. TheRatPatrol

    TheRatPatrol SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    253
    Likes Received:
    51
    This will obviously give them some more bandwidth, correct?

    So I guess satellite TV isn’t going away, as some have stated? :)
     
  16. HoTat2

    HoTat2 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    903
    Likes Received:
    226
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Specifically T15 will give an increase in "CONUS+" wide bandwidth at 101W, yes ...

    That is, whenever the LiL spotbeam tps. on T4S/T9S are shutdown freeing up 6 additional tp. channels for CONUS+ service.

    It will also give PR more bandwidth on the DBS Ku band by allowing their subs. to see the 32 tps. at 101W instead of limited to only the three at 110W.

    And while not actually bandwidth related, T15 at 101W will also allow Hawaii subs. a hugh advantage by allowing them to ditch the big, ugly, and awkward 1.2m AK/HI dish for standard Slimlines.

    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
    #16 HoTat2, Sep 16, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2018
  17. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    327
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    IA
    Yes, all the people who said AT&T was going to drop satellite within a few years look pretty stupid now, with AT&T about to launch a brand new satellite :)
     
  18. theBruce

    theBruce Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Posts:
    3,663
    Likes Received:
    2,189
    That was ordered and planned well before AT&T bought DirecTV, all the talk about DirecTV going internet came directly from AT&T after the purchase.

    I do think it will happen but not for about 10 years.
     
    goaliebob99 likes this.
  19. goaliebob99

    goaliebob99 SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Posts:
    14,320
    Likes Received:
    418
    Location:
    -.-. .... .. -.-. .- --. ---
    I'm wondering if they are testing at 103W and will move T16 later to 101, or if they decided to save on fuel and just leave T15 at 101 satisfied with its mission there. I'm not sure how much fuel is used to drift a satellite, but I would imagine that one way would use more than the other with the way the earth spins. That also could be calculated into this occasion. Interesting to see T16 go to 103W. The less fuel you use, the more life you get out of the bird.
     
  20. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    44,617
    Likes Received:
    9,694
    Location:
    Northern VA
    It takes very little fuel to change orbit out there, if you’re in no hurry. Just go a little higher or a little lower.


    Sent from my iPhone using the SatelliteGuys app!
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...