Free-to-Air dish setup & Channelmaster 1.2m dish

Status
Please reply by conversation.

jreads

Original poster
Jun 15, 2004
Hi there,
I'm setting up a Free-to-Air satellite dish using a Channelmaster dish that I just bought from Dow Electronics. I hadn't found this site yet. I bought the receive only Ku band 1.2 m dish (I know it's overkill on the East coast) and a digital LNB.

I don't think there is any real difference between analog and digital LNBs, is there? Their salesperson was someone who had no idea if the LNB was universal or not, just had a part number for an "analog" and a "digital." I suspect that both of them are universal LNBs.

My first surprise (I'm a newbie) was that the LNB wasn't the feedhorn. It's the square box that connects to the ?feedhorn? and the coax cable. And it has a clear plastic window on the end that connects to whatever it connects to with what looks like a wave guide in it. The dish itself hasn't arrived --it's coming by truck --so I don't know if it will have the feedhorn or whether I have to call them back and order one. I suspect that the feedhorn is part of that "receive only" specification since the dish itself couldn't care less if it's receiving or sending too.

1.2 meter dishes are a real pain to pick up in the Continental US. I had a real time trying to find one, then trying to find the vendor.

I haven't gotten the receiver yet for the setup.

I realize that all of this seems very nebulous. I think that I need a few folks who know what they're doing with dishes to talk to. It's not my field.
--AJ Reads

Good Luck, please keep us all upto date with the installation, it sounds like its going to be a lot of FUN!

Feedhorn in box

Well, my guess that the feedhorn would be in the dish shipment was correct. It is there according to the packing slip.