Frustrated with my Fortec Star Lifetime Ultra

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

Robbert

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jul 14, 2005
Southern New Hampshire
Hi Everyone,

As a satellite newbie, I got my first FTA setup from Sadoun, and it came with the Fortec Star Lifetime Ultra receiver. In the beginning, everything seemed to work great.. Until I started to do blind scans on a bunch of satellites I could receive. For some reason, suddenly the antenna setup menu settings were completely messed up. I had LNB selections that said "Radio Channels" (????) and satellite positioning / DiSEqC settings that were messed up as well.. #@!$#@%#@$#@!.. I could get the settings back to normal (had to go to each sat and repair the settings), but after every blind scan, about 30-40% of the sats were messed up again.

I called Sadoun, and upgraded the firmware of this receiver with the latest factory firmware. And... Everything was fine again.. For a while.. And now last night, while doing another few blind scans, I look at the transponder lists of a few sats, and see a total mess in there (note that these are NOT the sats I just did the blind scan on). These satellites suddenly list over 100 transponders with wacky SR's.

Now, I'm a software engineer myself, and I have done firmware programming in the past (although I do mostly MFC/Visual C++ right now). But this stinks like a very bad programming job, where a routine (the blind scan routine) uses memory that is already being used for the transponder lists and antenna setup pages, if the data in there becomes too large.