FTA and getting started

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

Yousaf

Original poster
Jan 27, 2008
Hi,

I'm new to the whole FTA scene. I reside in Ontario, Canada (I just stated that because I'm not even sure if my location makes a difference in terms of what hardware I need; since I started researching FTA's I'm on information overload). :eek:

Here's what I'd like to know. What hardware components do I need? And please.....try to be as specific as possible. I'm not looking for any brand name recommendations (yet). What I am looking for is a list of hardware components.

I know I need :

1) Satellite Receiver (1 for each TV unless I'm mistaken)
2) Satellite dish (Although I'm NOT sure what size I need. Ultimately, I want to be able to receive programming from North America and the India/Pakistan Sub-Continent so what size dish would you recommend?)
3) LNBF (although I'm not sure what this is or what type I need : HELP!)
4) Coax cable to run from the LNBF (I think) to wherever my receivers are.

NOW....I have 3 TV's in my house. I think I might need the following, but I'm not sure so please educate me on the subject if I'm mistaken :

1) A multi-switch / DiseqC Switch (Not sure if these two are the same thing, but I think I need this because I have 3 TV's)
2) An Antenna motor (I guess the type would depend on my dish size, and I'm not even sure which dish size/type I would need)

If you think you can help a newb out, please do.

Thanks! :cool:

Last edited:
I will leave more experienced members to comment on the hardware requirements in detail.