Please reply by conversation.

kb2kir

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
May 18, 2007
Norwich, NY
Hi, I'm new to FTA,
So if I've posted in the wrong place, please don't flame me,
let me know, and I will take care of it.
Many Noob questions for you.
I have just purchased a Coolsat 6000 reciever. I have a friend giving me a 1.2 meter dish. My question is what LNB should I use? Linear or circular?
Any specific brand that works best?
I have an old Dish 500 and LNB. Is this LNB of any use?
Does this site offer an FAQ as I am sure you have answered these questions a thousand times before.
Thanks,
Joe

Hi, I'm new to FTA,
welcome :wave
So if I've posted in the wrong place, please don't flame me,
let me know, and I will take care of it.
we don't flame here. We're all one happy (dysfunctional) group of people who love FTA :)
Many Noob questions for you.
I have just purchased a Coolsat 6000 reciever. I have a friend giving me a 1.2 meter dish. My question is what LNB should I use? Linear or circular?
linear will work the best. circular is for the DBS satellites
Any specific brand that works best?
some people love the Invacom. I like the Sadoun LNB's (the invacom for me didnt work right)
I have an old Dish 500 and LNB. Is this LNB of any use?
What can I get with a Dish500?
Does this site offer an FAQ as I am sure you have answered these questions a thousand times before.
Thanks,
Joe

We have one but that is what makes this site different than others. We don't say "do a search" or "read the FAQ". We've answered the same questions numerous times because we were all new to FTA too. Now don't get me wrong, I would read through some of the posts to see if anything interests you but if you have a question, we won't flame you if it was answered 2 weeks ago :)

starter plan

Here's just one list of many, showing the available FTA programming on Ku band.

Tell us more about your dish.
Did it come with an LNB and/or feed horn?