fta system in chicago

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

rstokas

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Aug 23, 2004
I am new to this but really want FTA to watch sports and news from other cities. I see that ABC and FOX from other cities is available on G10.

Now what do I do? Are there installers who do this stuff? Is it better to get a whole system with a motor? Or will just seeing G10 be enough to get some extra MLB and NFL games?

Can I buy a system and install somewhere? If not how hard is it to do yourself? Anyone near Chicago that can help me.

really want to get a fta.

I would look into getting a complete motorized setup. Sadoun has some nice set ups as does Satellite A/V. I started without the motor, but added one within a few months. As for setup, I would think that in your area there are installers. But, if you have some very basic skills, it is very do-able. WELCOME to the world of FTA, and fire away with any questions. :)

If you can read a level and operate post-hole diggers you can probably install your own system. Can you see the southern sky without trees or buildings, if not, how much of it can you see? Get a compass and look to the south, turn your head east and west to check. If you can see the dishnetwork sats at 110 and 119degrees you can prob get the G10 sat at 123 degrees. There's plenty of instructions in threads here, just read , read , read. A motorized system will get you more channels of course. A c-band dish (6-10') will get digital stuff on the c-band satellites too (lots of network feeds and sports)