galaxy 19

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by BEATLE, Mar 15, 2012.

  1. FaT Air

    FaT Air HOA Free Zone

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    6,668
    Likes Received:
    912
    Location:
    97W 48N
    What kind of switch is it? In satellite setup you have to tell the receiver to use the other switch port. The linear is probably on 2, while your circular is on 1.
     
  2. *** WELCOME TO SATELLITEGUYS! ***
  3. BEATLE

    BEATLE Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    ok...now tell me...i scanned galaxy 19 sat and when i went to watch ...no pic ...just station desription and guide
     
  4. FaT Air

    FaT Air HOA Free Zone

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    6,668
    Likes Received:
    912
    Location:
    97W 48N
    One of my receivers did that occasionally. Turning it off with the switch on the back for a minute, and turning it back on, got it going again every time.
     
  5. BEATLE

    BEATLE Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    i tried rebooting ..i guess i'll keep trying maybe i'll get lucky....thanks again for your help
     
  6. Cham

    Cham VE4GLS
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Posts:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    510
    Location:
    Boonies
    Beatle,
    What satellites do you have programmed, and have you picked up anything other than nimiq(s)? I have a viewsat here somewhere... didn't like it but I did get it to work. Someone gave it to me with some sort of hack-ware with only DSS satellites on the list. I just deleted the list and started a new one, but if the receiver is ever re-set it goes back to the "bad" list again. Think I only used it for the NASA channel on C-band.
    Also try disconnecting the DSS line (circular polarized LNBF) and just leave the FSS (linear 10750) line connected directly to the motor. (turn receiver off first!)
    This is assuming your motor is set up properly; on a perfectly vertical pole with elevation and declination set for your location, and the satellite position programmed in your receiver. If you suspect your motor is messing up just try the dish without the motor and point it SW and up about 60 degrees for Florida approximately.
    A 30" dish should work ok for 97W, 36" would be better though. RT and AJZ are on the same TP with a good signal. Try taking your receiver and a portable TV outside to help line it up... Those el-cheapo sat finders don't work very well for linear signals for some reason, but the viewsat has a good signal strength indicator screen.
    Best of luck!
     
  7. BEATLE

    BEATLE Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    do i need any factory files or bin files..if so ..what are they ....thanks?
     
  8. FaT Air

    FaT Air HOA Free Zone

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    6,668
    Likes Received:
    912
    Location:
    97W 48N
    No files are needed.
    P#12 >> i dont understand why i would have to change anything at the lnb ...i use to get galaxy 19.with everything the same as i have now <<
    Because you've erased the proper programming in the receiver.
    The receiver has to be programmed correctly to operate the switch that is in your system, OR remove the switch. (we haven't been informed of what kind of switch it is yet. is there a part # on it? or any other print that may identify it? )
    Since there is little to none to be seen on the DSS circular birds, circular polarity is not needed. The easiest solution is to remove the switch and wire your receiver to the motor, then the motor to the "L" (Linear) output of the LNBF. Then - receiver switch programming can be ignored.
     
  9. FaT Air

    FaT Air HOA Free Zone

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    6,668
    Likes Received:
    912
    Location:
    97W 48N
    when i go to usal---? Lat and Long. If you don't know yours go to maps.google.com and zoom into your location/dish. Then right click on the map on your dish location and click on "What's Here". Your Lat and Long are shown in the location bar on the page.
    How you enter them in your receiver? Some want + or - for North or south, others want N or S. East or west require + or - for east and west, while others E or W entered. Some may even only allow E entries - 90°West = 270°(E)
     
  10. FaT Air

    FaT Air HOA Free Zone

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    6,668
    Likes Received:
    912
    Location:
    97W 48N
    I'm confused.
    Wire thusly: receiver lnb input to the motors receiver connector. LNB connector of motor to Linear output connector of LNBF. If you haven't moved the dish from where it was, when you got the G 19 channels scanned in, They should now register Quality. If they show low Q and don't work yet, bumping the dish slightly up/down/east west, to Maximize the Quality reading may be in order.
    Let's concentrate on getting G 19 working before trying to set up the motor.
     
  11. Cham

    Cham VE4GLS
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Posts:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    510
    Location:
    Boonies
    Get it working Beatle?
    just curious.
    -C.
     
  12. AcWxRadar

    AcWxRadar SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Posts:
    4,575
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    40 miles NW of Omaha. Omaha?
    BEATLE,

    First question... Did you ever MOVE your dish or motor, physically? I mean did you ever go out to the dish and make any mechanical adjustments? And, are you certain that the wind or weather did not move the dish off alignment for you?

    If you had Galaxy 19 originally and no mechanical adjustments were ever made to the dish and motor, then we should be pretty certain that the dish is still aligned properly. DON'T touch it from here on out unless we find that there is reason to do so, but it should be fine.

    Sounds to me, just as you stated, that the satellite was merely lost from the programming and we need to focus on the programming (setup) parameters to simply recover it.

    I am not entirely familiar with the Viewsat receiver's setup menus, so I will have to try and explain everything in a generic sense. You will have to translate what I say to fit the Viewsat receiver.

    First of all, I would power down the receiver and then go outside and disconnect the main cable from the receiver to the switch and hardwire the cable directly to the Linear port of the LNBF (though the motor of course so that the motor is still in the circuit). If you do this, then we can ignore the switch setting parameters in the setup menu for the time being. We'll come back to the switch setup later and make sure that it is right, but for now, let's concentrate on just getting the 97W sat (Galaxy 19) set up.

    You have a motor, correct? Are you (or were you) using DiSEqC 1.2 motor positioning or were you using USALS? If you were using USALS originally, you need to ensure that your site coordinates are entered properly... For example, my location is 41.6°N and 96.4°W. You can determine your precise coordinates if you use Google Earth and zoom in on your home. Ensure that the latitude shows N and not S and that the longitude shows W and not E. Many receivers will default to E (east) because they are manufactured in Europe or Asia and they just stick with what is natural to them.

    After viewing your settings in a previous post from you, I believe that you have them correct, but just to be certain, make sure that the LNB or L.O. frequency is set to 10.750 GHz (10750 MHz).

    Now, you must ensure that the satellite that you are seeking is registered in your satellite list. Is Galaxy 19 listed when you open your dish setup menu? Is it mapped to be at 97.0°W? If it is NOT there you will have to manually enter it to re-register the sat in your list. If it is NOT shown to be at 97.0°W, you will have to reset its orbital position to reflect that it is. I assume that you know your Viewsat receiver well enough to manage these changes if they are necessary. If not, you need to ask a member (who is more familiar with the Viewsat than I am) regarding how to navigate the menus to get this task done.

    The next thing you need to do is to ensure that at least one STRONG or HOT transponder is included in the list under this satellite. I don't know if this TP is the strongest, but it is a guaranteed active one that is STRONG... 12152 MHz, Horizontal, with symbol rate 19997 (20,000).
    This is the Al Jazeera TP and it is always active and provides a good signal so you can be assured that it is always consistent and reliable.

    If you were originally using USALS and the dish/motor alignment has not changed mechanically, then you should be able to just command the receiver to drive the motor right to the sat and the signal should just POP right in for you. However, if you were using DiSEqC 1.2 to control your motor, then you will need to step the motor to align the dish with the satellite. If you have some idea where your dish is aimed at currently, you can at least judge which direction to step the motor and about how far. I think you stated that you knew where Nimiq 1 at 91W was, so you have to step the motor west of there 6 degrees.

    Monitor your signal quality while TP 12152 H is selected and step the motor slowly. Step it and then stop and wait 2-5 seconds, check the signal and then step it again and check the signal. Repeat this until you detect a really strong response on your receiver's quality meter.

    You can monitor the signal level meter to assist you. When you are getting CLOSE to any signal, the signal meter should rise. But, you must rely upon the QUALITY meter to know when you are on the desired TP signal. You are looking for a LOCK on 12152 H so the quality meter should register a very strong level when you align with it.

    The signal level meter will register a stronger reading whenever you align to any signal even if it is not the correct one, but you can utilize this indication to know when you should slow down in your stepping search and then start monitoring the quality meter more closely. Many receivers have user selectable step increments or speeds. If you see that the signal level is rising high, select the slower step speed or smaller step increment and start watching the quality meter for an indication of a strong signal. If the quality meter doesn't respond, or if it doesn't read a really HOT signal, then you are not there yet or you went past it or your dish/motor is not very well aligned.

    RADAR
     
    #31 AcWxRadar, Mar 20, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2012
  13. AmZeeel

    AmZeeel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    I am still watching Galaxy 19 today, there are 191 channels and 75 radios. i am ok
     
  14. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    5,601
    Likes Received:
    2,296
    Location:
    Montana
    Hey AcWxRadar, I was just thinking about you yesterday wondering where you been. Enjoyed your posts. Welcome back!
     
    Scott Greczkowski likes this.
  15. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    5,601
    Likes Received:
    2,296
    Location:
    Montana
    :welcome to the forum AmZeeel Glad to hear you're OK ;)
     
    Scott Greczkowski likes this.



***

Separate names with a comma.

More...