Getting my first dish!

Status
Please reply by conversation.

kzinbastet

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Aug 30, 2008
Hi ,I'm very new to this having just found out anythind about FTA on Saturday!My husband and I live off grid in Vermont and this seemed a good alternative to spending lot on Channels we won't watch.I'm picking up my dish on Saturday and bidding on a coolsat 6000 so I may have both on sunday!(not counting time for shipping).The Dish is a channel master mesh so let me know what you think.I'm adding pics.Thanks :eek:

Attachments

• dish pics 001.jpg
    dish pics 001.jpg
    364.3 KB · Views: 215
  • dish pics 002.jpg
    dish pics 002.jpg
    233.5 KB · Views: 216
  • dish pics 003.jpg
    dish pics 003.jpg
    193.1 KB · Views: 205
  • dish pics 005.jpg
    dish pics 005.jpg
    368.9 KB · Views: 218
  • dish pics 007.jpg
    dish pics 007.jpg
    112.8 KB · Views: 189
Great actuator, my Thompson Saginaw 24" is still going strong after 19 years. The Channel Master looks good :)

You might take off the LNB cover ( the small trash can in your last picture above) and give us some pictures inside.
Be careful of any wasps, or other resident bugs.

Look also directly into the open end of the feed horn (as viewed from the dish), and let us see which model/brand you have (and any more critters).
There may be a two or three inch removable cover.
Let's see inside.

We'll be able to tell you if it'll do Ku, too. ;)

Are you getting any old Analog or 4DTV receiver with the dish?
Perhaps a 920 or 922 4DTV receiver?
Reason I ask, is any of the above will move the motor to swing the dish.
Lacking one of those, we might recommend a thing called a Vbox or a Gbox to do the job.
Also, the feedhorn most likely has a little blue servo to change skew and switch between horizontal and vertical transponders.
An analog or 4DTV receiver would be able to control that servo, too.