Good signal on 110, Terrible on 119

Chris House

Original poster
Aug 9, 2016
Central Alabama
I am about to go crazy with this problem. I can get 110 up to 70 signal strength, but best I can get on 119 is 15, at best, consistently.

When aligning, I have seen 119 hit 40 for a second here at there, but very rarely, but can't hold that signal even when I get it at that same position. It usually happens after I lock it down after adjusting and then move the dish a little using the natural slack/bend in the dish structure. However, I can do the same thing a second time and no change.

I am no expert, but I have aligned many DTV, Dish, and Hughes-net Internet dishes over the years and never had this problem. I have swapped out wire and that does not help.

I am using a 625 receiver and only need SD channels. This says dishnetwork 1000 on it and it has a western arc LNBF. I am wondering if I am looking at a failing LNB or if maybe I have a mismatched LNB and dish. I will try to post pics later.

any help/suggestions appreciated

Bad LNBF, Line of Site issue, or skew not set right on back of dish.

The skew is set per recommended setting.The signal just jumps all over the place, but does not stay high but just a sec.

you can see from the attached pics how the signal jumps from 14 to 18 to 25, without me touching the dish, but mostly stays around 8. Also, not the screw sticking out of the LNB, that makes me wonder if this LNB does not go with this sat.

Would I be getting 110 this strong if it were a line of sight issue?

Attachments

• IMAG0149.jpg
    IMAG0149.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 219
  • IMAG0152.jpg
    IMAG0152.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 277
  • IMAG0154.jpg
    IMAG0154.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 222
  • IMAG0156.jpg
    IMAG0156.jpg
    3 MB · Views: 299
  • IMAG0157.jpg
    IMAG0157.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 308
  • IMAG0158.jpg
    IMAG0158.jpg
    3.3 MB · Views: 239
  • IMAG0159.jpg
    IMAG0159.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 244
  • IMAG0161.jpg
    IMAG0161.jpg