Goodbye Dish Network

NR2D

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Feb 17, 2005
Laurel Springs NJ
I was just told by a DISH DIRT rep that I can't have my Hopper 3 and my VIP 722K on the same account. I'm on the phone now with a customer support rep and she is saying the same thing. Until this morning it was fine to have my 722K on the same account. Another DIRT rep said nothing about the 722K when I asked him to check the charges for my new Hopper 3.

The DIRT rep this morning and the customer service rep says that a Hopper 3 and the 722K doesn't fit Dish's business model for the Hoppers.

imho its one of the failings of the hopper system

they should integrate with the vip receivers
the only saving grace is the 16 tuners on the h3 vs the 3 on the h1/h2

I am new to Dish but I can't understand why you would want a VIP 722K and a Hopper 3. You can get a Hopper 3 and several Joeys and should be good to go.

Hardware wise they can't be on the same dish. You would need multiple dishes from a technical standpoint. The hopper 3 is meant to be a whole home dvr solution with up to 6 joeys as clients so it was not designed to work with other receivers.

imho its one of the failings of the hopper system

they should integrate with the vip receivers
the only saving grace is the 16 tuners on the h3 vs the 3 on the h1/h2

Dish allows all VIP receivers, 211, 222, except the 722K on the account. My installation, a Hopper 3 in 1 room and the 722K
is the most convenient. It's just unbelievable.

I just got the phone with a customer service manager and she would not reauthorize the 722K. My only option to keep the Hopper 3
is to buy a Joey.

Help me out, so is it a $$ thing or is it that you just like the 722? There must be something about this receiver that makes it incompatible with the H3. Shame on them for not having this info, but I can tell you from experience the 4k Joey is phenomenal - small size, super fast and works great with the H3. Maybe they can swap it for a Joey.