Got a 12 foot prime focus dish

Status
Please reply by conversation.

truckracer

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Sep 17, 2004
Charleston wv
:) Hey guys, I landed a free 12 foot fiberglass c-band dish with polar mount and 36 von weiss actuator (hope i spelled that right).

The dish is on my cousin's property and he welcomed me to take it. It is composed of four fiberglass petals and has a buttonhook feed assembly with a feedhorn and lnb.

The lnb is pretty old and says its a 50 degree K (ouch!! way too hot) by today's standards. I have a new astrotel 20 degree lnbf for c-band.
I would imagine that the buttonhook will need guy wires to be secured precisely over the focal point which I can fabricate from some hardware store stuff.

This dish is very lightweight for something this big. I have not checked this dish to see if it is warped. I will check it monday. All of the bolts and nuts are terribly rusted so I am going to take my recipricating saw and dremel to cut out the rusty bolts. These things are really frozen in oxidation.

I cannot apply heat to the bolts because it may damage the fiberglass.

Is there anything I should look out for before I do all this work?
Is this fiberglass four piece dish worth the effort. It does take a 6 inch mounting pipe, my existing pipe is a 4 inch schedule 40 stainless steel filled to the top with concrete and planted four feet in the ground with a 24 " base. THis should be sufficient to hold this dish, it seems very lightweight, around 80 pounds or so. the fiberglass is somewhat thin. It does not have anything on it showing what brand or who the manufacturer is.

I will have ot make an adaptor for my pipe to work with this polar mount.
Let me know what you guys think.