H21-200

Status
Please reply by conversation.

rockaway1836

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Apr 18, 2005
Myrtle Beach SC
I was just at the local BB and they have the H21 in stock. I'm thinking I may pick one up. Has anyone tried one out yet? I hear They run much cooler than the H20-600, and that the guide is much faster. Any thoughts?

It's a nice box, I've been doing the early testing with the H21-200 for D* for a few months. Yes, it runs A LOT cooler then the H20-600 I have. The guide is a bit faster but hard to tell since I'm still running early release code on it so don't remember what the last production level was like. The H21 has an ethernet adapter in it, which the H20 doesn't but it's not enabled and don't know when/if D* will even do anything with it. The big question is would you want a box with no over the air tuner in it since the H21 doesn't have it. If that's not an issue for you then if you need a new HD STB then go for it.

Thanks for the reply rad. Yea, I think I'm going to go for it. I have 1 H20 -100 with no heat issues at all. I have 4 H20-600s that all run hot. Some hotter than others. I think I will swap them around a bit and move the hottest one to the guest bedroom. That way it won't be so much of an issue. I think it also maybe time to retire my 3 old SD Sonys. I hate doing it though, they have worked great for 11 years!

Have you thought at all about getting a HR20 vs. another H20/H21? Besides getting the HD DVR the HR20 has the Media Share function (view JPEG's and listen to MP3's from a network attached computer) and soon the DirecTV on Demand (their video on demand) where you can download showes/movies via your broadband connection. You might want to call D*, say cancel at the first prompt to get to customer retention and see if they'll make you a deal on one.