Hail damage to dish--leasing--who pays?

bookwalk

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Feb 10, 2005
I am new to dish and we sometimes get horrific hail storms. I lease my 942 and the 2 dishes installed were free, so am I leasing just the 942 or also the dishes & LNB's?

What happens when there is damage to the dishes--who pays and how does it get reported? Do I need to add them to my Home Insurance?

It may depend on who you talk to. If you're a DHA customer you'd only pay the service call fee for a tech to come out, parts would be free (at least they are here). If you want you could sign up with dish for their extended protection service, $6/mo, which makes any service call at all $29 with no parts costs.

bookwalk
you must have one hell of hail storms wherever you are. We've had hail in MN and my dishes are fine. I had one blow off the roof but it held :)

Iceberg said:
bookwalk
you must have one hell of hail storms wherever you are. We've had hail in MN and my dishes are fine. I had one blow off the roof but it held :)

I live next door in South Dakota--let's hope the dishes do withstand it all--one is on the side of our house facing south and the other on a fence post just to the west (where the storms come from).

I already have the Extended warranty included in my one-year committment--but thought it was only for the 942, but if it includes the dish, then, $29 for a new dish if I needed one, I guess.

The biggest danger, since the dish on the fence post is pretty low to the ground--is when my husband mows the lawn--he throws up a rock and dings it--he's broken windshields, house siding with his wreck-less lawn-mowing--I actually fear for my life!

bookwalk said:
I live next door in South Dakota--let's hope the dishes do withstand it all--one is on the side of our house facing south and the other on a fence post just to the west (where the storms come from).