Hd homerun

Discussion in 'Over the Air TV By RabbitEars.Info' started by danristheman, Jan 6, 2019.

  1. danristheman

    danristheman Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    3,017
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    Location:
    85w
    Do i need the hd homerun app for my smart tvs to use a homerun unit? I don't have internet access. I do have a router.
     
  2. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,061
    Likes Received:
    7,149
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Not if your TV's do DLNA
     
  3. cpalmer2k

    cpalmer2k SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Posts:
    443
    Likes Received:
    147
    Location:
    United States
    Be careful with this though and read up as to exactly how the TV implements this feature if you're shopping for one. I got burned on this at Christmas. I bought a new Vizio TV for my office because it said it supported DLNA and casting/streaming. It does- but only if you're sending the video from a device that can see the TV as a DLNA receiver (which even my PC does not, sadly). It doesn't actually have an app to connect to DLNA sources even though it has one for about every other junk provider you can think of. LG TV's seem to be really good at this though- our bedroom TV is an LG and works great with the HDHomerun.
     
    primestar31 likes this.
  4. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    9,427
    Likes Received:
    1,869
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    If you have an Amazon Fire Stick, the HD Homerun app works great on them. I have a couple of old HD Homerun Duals and the Firetv plays mpeg2 natively so its great for the older hardware.
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  5. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,061
    Likes Received:
    7,149
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    +1

    I have 2 Fire Sticks also and the HDHR does play well with them.

    Roku does NOT suppoet MPEG2.

    Most Sony blu-ray players support DLNA and I have streamed from the HDHR using those, also.
     
    primestar31 likes this.
  6. danristheman

    danristheman Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    3,017
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    Location:
    85w
    Both LG tv's are on my same network. One in my mom's room does miracast and I cast things to the tv.
     
  7. danristheman

    danristheman Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    3,017
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    Location:
    85w
    My mom's tv is 24LJ4840, My tv is a 43uj6300
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...