HD lite

Status
Please reply by conversation.

baltchop

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Nov 7, 2005
I'm fairly new to this and have just signed up to get HD from Directv.

Which hd channels are classified as HD lite?

Thanks.

Actually,

HD Lite will be every HD channle (on D*) not transmitting at native 1280x720p (Two ESPN channels). Everything else on DirecTv is considered HD LITE.

http://www.widemovies.com/dfwbitrate.html

HD Lite = term used to identify HD channels which picture quality have been degraded by the provider by dowresizing the Horizontal or Vertical resolution of the native HD signal, or using low bitrates to transmit the same signal. In OTA, HD Lite can be used to identify the same problems plus the multicasting issue which could affect the OTA HD channel in a very significant way. So in some cases OTA is not exempt from HD Lite.

baltchop said:
I'm fairly new to this and have just signed up to get HD from Directv.
Which hd channels are classified as HD lite?
Thanks.
I just got my HD sat setup as well the past week, and have been combing through this site for about 2 hours - from what I have read, the term HDLite is something that certain people here have used to describe HD channels that don't meet their personal HD standards somehow. I looked on the FCC site, the CEA site, and 3 other HDTV web sites, and have not seen any mention of it anyplace else.

Anyway, what I did find on the FCC and other sites is that HD is defined as either 720p or 1080i broadcasts with a 16X9 picture and surround sound. Based on that, it would appear that all of Direc TV's HD channels are HD channels - either 720p or 1080i with Dolby and 16X9 picture. I've read that they use some kind of "compression" of their signal, but it seems to have little or no effect, because my HD looks as great as the one in the Home Theater store. My friends visiting yesterday for XMAS all said WOW on all the HD channels we watched.