HDTV antenna question

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

crimpshrine

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Sep 10, 2007
NC
I was looking at getting this HDTV antenna to hook up to my Dish receiver but was wondering how good it worked? I really want an indoor HD antenna and my locals are within 15-20 miles from me. I noticed in the info section of this, it says it picks up UHF channels (2-13) and VHF channels (14-69). I'm a newbie at this stuff but noticed some of my locals like channel 9.1 CBS (for enstense) is broadcast VHF and Fox 14.1 is broadcast UHF. Does this mean I won't be able to pick up these channels?? Thanks for the reviews of this antenna and the help.

Amazon.com: Terk HDTVa Indoor Amplified High-Definition Antenna for Off-Air HDTV Reception: Electronics

Are your stations all in the sames direction from you? I personally would look at getting something like a DB4 and putting it in your attic if you have one. I fear twenty miles might be a stretch for an indoor, especially the Terk. Cross that one off your list. Zenith has better reputation. I assume you have check your situation on AntennaWeb ?
Also, check here:HD Over the Air (OTA) - SatelliteGuys.US

Antenna Comparisons

Go to this link for comparisons of antennas:

Comparing some commercially available antennas

When you check AntennaWeb, click on Show Digital Only to limit the results. If any of them broadcast from channels below 14, you may need a UHF/VHF combo, or get a good UHF and add a small High VHF antenna to it. Indoor antennas are probably not going to do it at 20 miles, but something like a DB4 in a window or attic might do the job.