Help about Dish/HD/Standard...

Benjamin Linus

Original poster
Feb 15, 2008
Newbie here, but long time Dish Network Customer. I have been trying ot find out some info from them, but they never really answer my question, and the $ amounts are always different.

In my house, I have 3 TV's, one HDTV 1080i, and two standard 4:3 TV's The HDTV has the original standard receiver without DVR, as does one of the standard TV"s. The third standard TV has a 30 GB standard DVR.

I am looking to upgrade to HDTV programing with HD-DVR for the HDTV, and see if possible to upgrade the other two receivers to HD-DVR. The reason being is two fold. I plan to upgrade one of the standard TV's to a 1080P HDTV, and keep the third standard until I can afford to replace it as well (1-1/2 years off).

I would like all three receivers to be HD mainly for the reason of more hard drive space for recording shows. The one I have now maxes out around 28-30 hours standard. I know the HD-DVR's can keep around 200 hours in standard and 55 in HD.

I have been told by Dish that I can have 1 HD-DVR, and one standard DVR. The third TV would not have a box, just a line run to it from the HD-DVR. Yet the assure me that that TV will be able to watch different shows than the HDTV set at anytime, and that I can record one show and watch another.

I am trying to have all three with the HD-DVR, so I can DVR an all three TVs (three people in a house that watch a lot of different programs). I have been with Dish for over four years, yet every call I ask about this, they change from "That might be possible, but will cost you $400-$600 upfront" to "Well, you can only have on HD-DVR and you have to keep you existing 30 GB DVR, sorry" to "Let me put you through to some who can help" only to get hung up on.