Help! Aquiring signal with no progress!

kaylar22

Original poster
Aug 13, 2012
upstate ny
Hi,

This is my first time here so I am hoping for some help. I'm not the most technically savy person :) I needed to reprogram my universal remote today as it would not work on the dish anymore ( I assumed the batteries might have dislodged, resetting it) anyway, I sat down to do that, I touched nothing but the remote, no wires or boxes or even the tv. I programmed the remote, the dish box powered off and I hit power to turn it back on. It came back on but will not move from aquiring signal screen. The transponder number changes every 4 seconds exactly but nothing else happens. Still says 0 of 5. Its been about an hour. I have tried unplugging and waiting, unplugging from tv, I even removed the little smart card for a second. My model is 311 if that helps any. Please help!

The remote is just a generic universal GE remote. I've tried several times to reprogram since the satellite incident and it is not working. My receiver is the dish network box, says 311 in the corner. Only buttons it has is power, channel up and down and the fold down slot for the little card.

The remote is just a generic universal GE remote. I've tried several times to reprogram since the satellite incident and it is not working. My receiver is the dish network box, says 311 in the corner. Only buttons it has is power, channel up and down and the fold down slot for the little card.
Sounds more like you have a receiver problem rather than a remote problem. Call DISH at 1-800-333-3474 add the service program and get a technician out to correct your problem. Where is your original DISH remote?

The GE remote should work just fine. That being said, it would be best to use the DISH remote while troubleshooting.

Stuff I'd try (if you're afraid to call DISH for help):

1. Disconnect that satellite cable and reboot the receiver (hold the front panel power button for about four seconds).