HELP!! I think my 522 is crashing!

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

ezyemail

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Feb 29, 2004
My 522 started acting up last night, it powers off to do a Hard Disk Function for over 300 mins when the screen says it will only take 45 mins.

Now, the 522 powers off , comes back on, dowloads the program guide half way then goes to black, then powers on to do the hard disk for 1 min then goes to black.

Its been doing this for almost 24 hours.

I did a master reset and unplugged it for 2 mins.

Any other suggestions??

Has anyone heard or had this problem.

Dish wants to send another receiver, but I have stuff saved I wanted to burn to DVD.

Thanks!

It sounds like your 522 has developed a bad hard drive the only thing you can do is let it keep trying it might come back up if it does transfer the shows you want to keep. The odds are pretty small on that happening but stranger things have happened in the world of computers good luck.

Thanks for the reply, have you heard of this problem with other 522's?

Mine had the same problem Sunday night and had to get a new receiver sent out. It came last night. Hummmmm, wonder why so many 522s are suddenly having hard drive problems?

wonder if tivo makes a 2 tuner like the 522, I am willing to switch

As far as I know the only Tivos with 2 tuners are the Direct TV Tuners and they are designed to only feed 1 TV so no dual mode like the Dish Network 522

if you have a spare maxtor 4R120L0 or 4R160L0 lying around you can connect it and see if that helps.