Help with dish and receiver set up...

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Tcube

Original poster
Oct 31, 2004
Hi,
I am new to FTA. I live in Lake Worth, FL 33463. I have set up my dish(30") and have Vistar2000 DVB receiver. I have the dish pointing to the general direction of 214 deg. azimuth and 54 deg. elevation. Is this correct? Do I have to take anything else into account? I have mounted the dish about 3 ft. off of the ground on the south side of my house. I cannot mount it higher due the size of the dish. It is about 24' from my neighbor's house. I think it cleared my neighbor's roof. I am not sure if that is affecting my signal. I am not getting any signal at all. My receiver shows signal value of 92, but my signal quality is "low". I am not sure what the next step is. I have all of the information I need, but not sure how to proceed to program my receiver. The satellite that I getting signal off of is Telstar 5, I am trying to get vietnamese channel at 12177 Ver frequency; Symbol rate of 23000, LNB of 10750. When I press the Menu button on the remote control, I get 10 different Remote No. It shows in this order;

Remote No. 0 through 9 etc.
LNB LO freq. (Khz)
LNB Power (Volt)
Downlinnk freq. (Khz)
Symbol Rate
0 / 12V Mode
DiSEqC 1.0

I am familiar with LNB LO and Symbol Rate, but not familiar with other items. What value should I put in for the other items? Like I stated earlier, there are total of 10 Remote No. starting with 0 - 9 inclusive.