Help with dish setup and alignment

Status
Please reply by conversation.

xtantaudio

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jun 11, 2008
Indiana
ok, I am new to this FTA setup stuff, but I have gathered and installed all my equipment.

mounting pole is perfectly vertical.
DMS SG2100 motor
Fortec 80P 31" dish
Invacom QPH-031 LNB
Twinhan DVB card
all new cabling

Everything aligned at true south

Motor tilted at latitude setting 41 degrees
dish elevation at 24 degrees

cabling is as follows:

DVB card --- Motor --- DisEqC switch ---LNB

Using Mytheatre for interface to card

DisEqC commands to motor work, motor turns east & west when I use the position console in Mytheatre

I used a generic satellite signal meter to help fine tune the alignment.

signal meter seems to receive multiple satellite signals as I manually move the motor east and west using the manual controls on the underside of the motor.

I have two questions: what is my true south satellite? in Mytheatre, there are several to choose from, but I do not understand the position degrees in the menu, and I have no idea what satellite I am currently aiming at....

perhaps my true south satellite is not even listed in Mytheatre, if that is the case, where can I find the files (.ini) to update the locations in Mytheatre ?

second question: have I set everything up right? are there any recommendations....?

I know that this may have been the wrong forum to post the questions about the DVB card and Mytheatre, but at this point any help is appreciated, and condsidering that I have not gotten a signal in Mytheatre, perhaps my latitude or alignment settings are off...

Thank you.

I think you should use 87W, AMC3, because the TIP channel is very strong. It will be easier to find than the "iffy" test card on amc5 .
11716 H 4859 7/8