Help with OTA

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

elloco07

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Aug 25, 2005
Hi guys
I am a newbie, if someone can point out a FAQ or make a sticky post about what is OTA, how can we get HD OTA channels for free, what equipment you need. Sort of like a startup guide. If someone can link different posts or websites on where to get more info that would be great. Thanks for everyones help.

Hi, and welcome... :wave

The best lesson anyone can give you about OTA - it's a location-specific science. Post your zip code, and we can get started...

I don't know how much of a newbie you are but to get OTA for "free" you need the following three items that are typically "not free".

1) A HD Display device (such as HD TV, HD Monitor, HD Projector or whatever). Some non-HD devises will not even display a HD source. Others will but won't be true HD, but might be better then what you got now.
2) A HD receiver. This could be built into your HD TV or it could be a Set Top Box (STB).
3) An antenna of some sort. As hancox mentioned, you need to provide us your zip and we should be able to narrow down what you specifically might need. Sometimes you can get away with even rabbit ears. Other times you might need a 60 foot mast antenna that is powered.

Thank you guys for replying