Help with signal quality

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

shark1959

Original poster
Feb 17, 2007
Hello All:

I'm new to this hobby and I'm trying to help my neighbour who has just purchased a Coolsat 8000HD along with a Invacom Quad LNB QPH-031 and a 33" FTA Tech dish. We have managed to get a 90% signal level on the receiver, but we are struggling with getting a quality signal from the receiver. I think he should have purchased something a lot simpler as his first step in to this wonderful world of FTA, but he was so set on wanting the high definition. Using a marine compass we used a satellite calculator to get our co-ordinates for satellite 97W and aimed the dish to a magnetic heading of 128.91, an elevation of 27.82 and a skew of -20.5. Our location is 123.12696W and 49.70573N. Just a note the dish mount was mounted plumb with additional braces for support.

I saw a post by Iceberg about the receiver needing a factory software upgrade before it would perform properly. So yesterday we loaded in the factory file to the receiver that's listed at the end of his review. It loaded in perfectly, when we went out to try it again we were still faced with zero quality. I have yet to see the meter move at all. I'm beginning to wonder if something is faulty with one of the components of this system.

Looking for answers site today I surfed on the Invacom web site and looked at the FAQ's and found the following post:

Q. "The signal level meter only gives an indication of the signal level, not the signal quality."