Help with the Acme Nut

Discussion in 'C-BAND Satellite Discussion' started by Mike045, May 7, 2019.

  1. Mike045

    Mike045 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Posts:
    102
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Quebec
    I have to replace the acme nut (V6-202) on my Von Weise actuator V76-5.
    Any info how to get the piece and replace it ?

    Thanks for your time,

    Mike
     
    wvman likes this.
  2. wvman

    wvman SatelliteGuys Pro
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    2,649
    Likes Received:
    1,251
    Location:
    N. Central WV
    Get an extra nut from Von Weise, install one for now, then take the other to someone with a lathe and have a couple made from Oilite stock. Must be able to cut Acme threads. I used to replace them for customers who had a failure of the nylon nut that came from the factory. The Oilite nuts are self-lubricating and will last many years.

    I'll look in my shop, I may one one lying around. If I do you can have it for the shipping. :)
     
  3. Mike045

    Mike045 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Posts:
    102
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Quebec
    I'll take your offer wvman!, if ever you find one in your shop; if so, just PM me.

    What is the right procedure to remove the old one ? You seem to be pretty knowledgeable, which I am not :(

    Mike
     
  4. Lone Gunman

    Lone Gunman SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    670
    Location:
    southeast
  5. wvman

    wvman SatelliteGuys Pro
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    2,649
    Likes Received:
    1,251
    Location:
    N. Central WV
    Look at post #4 in this thread, Von Weise Actuator Nut Repair? It shows you how to get the old nut out and replace it. :) It's a little bit of a project. I'll look for the nut later this afternoon and see if I have one left.
     
  6. Mike045

    Mike045 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Posts:
    102
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Quebec
    Thanks, I will study it with care.

    Mike
     
  7. wvman

    wvman SatelliteGuys Pro
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    2,649
    Likes Received:
    1,251
    Location:
    N. Central WV
    I moved several things around in the shop and so far I haven't located the part, but that doesn't mean it isn't there. I'll keep you updated and let you know when I locate it. :) Lots of stuff up there.
     
    Mike045 likes this.
  8. Mike045

    Mike045 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Posts:
    102
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Quebec
    Thanks for your time, wvman!

    Meanwhile I try to get info on the Von Weise site. When I get to the first page of Index, Gearmotor, Gear Motor, Gears, Linear Actuators, Actuators Motorreductores, transmisiones, actuadores lineales, Motores DC, Motores AC, Gear Reducer, DC Motor, PMDC Motor I see (bottom left) that the V76-202 is announced, but when I click on it, I get the message 403 Forbidden. Maybe I am blocked because I am from Canada, go figure.I also sent a message to the contact at Weise; so far, no response.

    Mike
     
  9. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,080
    Likes Received:
    4,260
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    I'm in Michigan and I also get the 403 error. There's something wrong with their page. They maybe moved it, and there's no direct link for some reason.
     
    Brct203 likes this.
  10. wvman

    wvman SatelliteGuys Pro
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    2,649
    Likes Received:
    1,251
    Location:
    N. Central WV
    Give them a call. They are very nice people. I doubt you're blocked because you're from Canada. Probably a server error on their end. They will answer your message, be patient. :)
     
  11. Mike045

    Mike045 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Posts:
    102
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Quebec
    I finally got a response from my contact at Weise (Scott Albright); he tells me that they still have some of these nuts, 19.95$ each. He must check for the UPS charge for the good dellvered in the USA (my sister).
    I also contacted hobbysat.ca as they advertise the acme nut for 19.95$ (nylon) and 29.95$ (brass); I am awaiting for their answer.

    Mike
     
    wvman and k.r. like this.
  12. wvman

    wvman SatelliteGuys Pro
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    2,649
    Likes Received:
    1,251
    Location:
    N. Central WV
    I'm sorry to say, I have turned the shop inside out and didn't locate an Oilite nut. I thought for sure there was at least 1 left, but if there is, I haven't found it. If I find it later, I'll contact you. :)
     
  13. Mike045

    Mike045 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Posts:
    102
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Quebec
    Thanks again for your time wvman!

    Hobbysat have not the piece (brass or nylon). Waiting for Scott response.

    I am also considering the brass nut (Roton, referred by Lone Gunman); the cost is 30,77$ and the delivery charge is 13$, so total 43,77$. If that was an Oilite nut I would not hesitate, but what bugs me is the lubrication after.

    Mike
     
    wvman likes this.
  14. wvman

    wvman SatelliteGuys Pro
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    2,649
    Likes Received:
    1,251
    Location:
    N. Central WV
    Since the Von Weise shaft is attached to the gear shaft and is exposed when removing the motor, It's relatively easy to grease the shaft. I use Moly grease because it's really slippery and bonds to the metal. It reduces wear on the nut and shaft. It's more pricey than regular grease, but worth it. It does great in mower deck bearings too. :D
     
  15. Mike045

    Mike045 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Posts:
    102
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Quebec
    If the grease application is a one time one, then the bronze nut is more attractive. Some years back, I have dismantled the actuator and applied Lucas X-TRA Heavy Duty Grease to the shaft; I have just to renew my application, if I understand correctly.

    Mike
     
  16. Mike045

    Mike045 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Posts:
    102
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Quebec
    Just a follow-up. I ordered the Roton brass nut, cost 30$ as already know, but the delivery (in USA) was 20$ (Ouch!).
    Finally I found this week a local shop to complete the process. I followed the suggestion from Snofly (Initial thread by Lone Gunman, March 2010) : ....

    Do not cut the outside shaft. Use a hacksaw blade to cut the plastic nut in half lengthwise.
    Remove the plastic. Make a steel tapered drift to drive into the end of the shaft. This will
    spread the tabs out. Next insert new nut and squeeze the tabs into place. Hope this helps.

    I had removed the plastic nut before, and the guy did the milling, spread the tabs out, and with a press squeezed the tabs; all this for 40$ Canadian, good deal.

    Before reassembling I put some grease on the shaft and the inner tube.

    Mike
     

    Attached Files:

    KE4EST, Brct203 and primestar31 like this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...