Help ... Zero Quality

Status
Please reply by conversation.

sathere

Original poster
Sep 11, 2007
I am new to this. I am trying to install a motorized system. I keep getting 85% level but zero quality. Please Help. This is what I have and what I am doing.

I have a Vission Sat IV2000 receiver, GEOSATpro 90 cm dish, GEOSATpro GS120 motor and a GEOSATpro Universal Ku-Band LNBF GSL1u- Bullet.

My location is 36.61N, 119.44 W. I entered my coordinates on the GeoSatFinder website and it gave me this Satellite to point to: 119W with compass reading 165.1 and dish elevation 47.5. I looked up the frequencies on lyngsat.com and picked a 12268 L tp4 with SR FEC 2000. However I couldn’t find SR FEC 2000 in my receiver. So I selected another satellite. I chose 101W.

To set up my dish I first mounted the motor and dish on a vertical post. I pointed it south by eye balling it to south with the help of a compass (166 deg) and taking into account magnetic deviation. I installed the LNBF with 0 rotation and connected the cables. I rotated the motor mount to latitude 36 and dish angle setting 24, as per the instructions in the motor manual.

On the receiver I selected satellite: 101W, frequency: 12120 M 30000 [V], LNB power: On, LNB type: universal, DisSEqC 1.0: off, DisSEqC 1.1: off, Legacy SW: off, Positioner: USALS, Dish Longitude: 119.4, Dish Latitude: 036.6 Then I selected Go To and the motor moved for a while and then stopped. I got 85% level but zero quality!

Knowing that my compass reading should be 136.7 and elevation 43.3 I moved the dish up / down and side to side in small increments while watching the TV screen to see any indication of quality but I got nothing. So far I’ve spent a number of days and many hours but whatever I do I get zero quality signal! I did a blind scan but it took a very long time with no results. I also did another blind scan with manual frequency range from 10700-12900 and it still took a very long time with no results.