Hi and a little help please.

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

OregonOldGuy

Original poster
Jan 13, 2009
Oregon
Hello all. I'm a noob and unsure of myself here. Although I was once pretty good at techy/geeky stuff, I've been out of the loop for well over a decade on C band. Been mostly teaching myself PC stuff...built my own gaming PC, etc.

I have a 10' dish in very good condition. Still moves east/west, etc. Also an HTS Tracker System VIII Plus receiver and 3 RF remotes. Over a decade ago, I went with DirecTV because those broadcasting curs went and scrambled everything worthwhile.:)

My question is this: Should I just tear this stuff down & toss it, or is there any reason to keep it? If I keep it, what would you recommend I consider to "upgrade" it or make it useful given the current state of digital regulation? Before I spend money, I need to justify it relative to the long range future. I've no desire to approach this as a "hobbyist".

I understand that if optimized I should be able to get a better HDTV picture from a Big One, than from a typical compressed signal from DirecTV. However, I have not switched to HDTV yet and am not sure when I will. With 3 sets to replace, that could be bloody expensive....But I will eventually, possibly this year.

Thank you for any advice you can throw my way.

There are still some special interest channels and wild feeds up there that are now digital.
Your big dish can still be used to subscribe to programming if you have a 4dtv receiver such as a motorola dsr-922, 905, 920

Lot of international and spanish language channels on c and ku bands
news feeds too.