Hopper 2 Error code 004/005

Shafers: Marshall

Original poster
May 9, 2019
Oklahoma
New to the forum guys but been viewing from afar and a lot of good information here. I'm a Technician for a Dish retailer and I have a customer having some minor issues on the Hopper. The install was done a few months ago, Pole mount in the backyard with no trees in the vicinity. They previously had PTCI cable for tv and the existing cable was all RG6 3Ghz so I used the majority of the existing cable. I ran two new lines from the dish to the solo node(each line about 50ft)which is in a home run box with the splitter. They have a Hopper 2 and two Joey 1s with WA antenna 1000.2 LNB. Everything was fine until about 2 months ago he called me a few days ago saying at about 6am to 7am his local channels 4,5,9 would sometimes be in letterbox and an error code 004 would pop up saying to switch to a different channel. He switches to History channel(all is fine there) and switches back and it's typically normal. But this may happen ten times within the hour. He also said it has happened at night as well. I'm not sure if it's happening during the day I assume he works during the day and mostly watches in the morning and at night. He has also had an error 005 come up but typically switching to a different channel and back would resolve it for the time being. He's done hard resets on both the hopper and tv and I also had him do a check switch on a clear day and still having the same issues. I'm going back out there tomorrow to do some diagnosing but I'm open to any ideas as it's a hour and a half round trip and I can't afford to go back and forth so I will be taking equipment out with me. Retail services summed it up to possibly the dish being out of alignment(the customer checked the pole to make sure it was still plumb and level and he said it was) so I'm unsure about that but they said the Hopper could have an issue as well. I agree that those could be the possible causes although I've never