Hopper 3 software U510

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by gpguitarman1, Mar 13, 2018.

  1. gpguitarman1

    gpguitarman1 Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    20
    Received U510 this morning. I haven't seen any visible changes in settings or anywhere else.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  2. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    6,886
    Likes Received:
    1,869
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Just tried to upgrade the software to U510 on both if my Hopper 3s and no luck. Will try again tomorrow.
     
  3. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    43,978
    Likes Received:
    9,134
    Location:
    Northern VA
    So, uh- those flaming arrows in your back from previous updates didn’t teach you anything? Still volunteering to be an early victim adopter?

    ;)
    :oldwink
     
    crodrules, HipKat and charlesrshell like this.
  4. cpdretired

    cpdretired Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    465
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Lemont, Il.
    Got it but I don't see anything different yet.
     
  5. CyberSpock

    CyberSpock SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    US
    I put it on this morning but I wasn't aware it was this new. I've been having problems with the EHD going off line every few days at random. I've had problems with programs I've viewed showing zero percent watched. I thought the upgrade might be worth trying.
     
  6. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    43,978
    Likes Received:
    9,134
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Well, let us know.
     
  7. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    2,048
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    As part of the continuing improvement of DISH products, receiver software updates are periodically released. Beginning 3/13/18, a new software version will be deployed to Hopper 3.

    The updated software will deploy to new and existing installations for Hopper 3. Other models are not included in this update. Preloaded receivers will download the new software when the Installation Wizard runs.

    March Hopper 3 software release details:

    • Joey software download improvements
    • General performance improvements
    • System reliability improvements


    Sorry, that's all the details they released
     
  8. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    43,978
    Likes Received:
    9,134
    Location:
    Northern VA
    <SHUDDER>
     
    NYDutch, charlesrshell and HipKat like this.
  9. JerryDowning

    JerryDowning SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Posts:
    708
    Likes Received:
    288
    Location:
    NE Illinois
    I thought that I was the only one with EHDs going off line. Hopefully this fixes it.
     
  10. ncted

    ncted SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    2,297
    Likes Received:
    713
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    So, a nice little maintenance release. U509 must have been a feature release that didn't pass muster.
     
  11. crodrules

    crodrules SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Posts:
    3,530
    Likes Received:
    2,355
    Location:
    North Central Ohio
    It seems ironic that a 510 is an upgrade from a Hopper 3. (Come on, by now you all knew this joke was coming. ;) )
     
    MikeD-C05, ncted, HipKat and 2 others like this.
  12. primetimeguy

    primetimeguy SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Posts:
    996
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    It doesn't fix the OTA issues
     
    Jon J likes this.
  13. CyberSpock

    CyberSpock SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    US
    The EHD still disappears occasionally. Noticeably after I switch to it, it often disappears soon after. Remedy: don't use it.

    New: when I reset the Hopper via tools, the Rental folder was empty. Cycling via the red button and they returned.
     
    crodrules likes this.
  14. KAB

    KAB SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Posts:
    19,794
    Likes Received:
    3,034
    Location:
    Indy
    If you want fool proof, never to fail EHD connections, get a dock and an internal hard drive.
     
  15. bwexler

    bwexler SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Posts:
    648
    Likes Received:
    158
    Location:
    San Marcos, CA
    You mean there is another way to setup an EHD.
     
  16. imatrix

    imatrix SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Carolina, PR
    Got U510 today. Still having problems with picture in picture multi view mode.
     
  17. dweber

    dweber SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Plain City, OH
    I have a Western Digital Raid array and you still need two access it twice to play the content. Others have commented that even with their docking station drives they have to access the drive twice to play content on the drive.
    Several people do not keep their drive online. They only place their external drive online when they want to use it. For them it will work the first time. Also I have noticed that the drive works the first time after a Hopper3 reboot. It appears that the USB interface is awake and able to communicate after a reboot or when the drive is first connected. After a while there appears to be a timing issue where the USB port does not communicate properly. Some have speculated that this is due to the drive spinning up but it worked well before Dish moved to the carbon interface.
     
    navychop likes this.
  18. KAB

    KAB SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Posts:
    19,794
    Likes Received:
    3,034
    Location:
    Indy
    I concur with you about the play problem. I was addressing the disappearing issue.
     
  19. littlecloud319

    littlecloud319 Tech guru
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    524
    Likes Received:
    364
    Location:
    Black Creek WI
    The problem with it not connecting is a power setting in the firmware itself. The Hopper powers down the USB port when inactive for x minutes to save power. It’s a feature used in windows by default. I always see people asking why their EHD isn’t working without re-plugging it in everytime they want to use it. With windows the setting can be changed. Unfortunately with the Hopper the end user can’t do anything about it.
     
  20. CyberSpock

    CyberSpock SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    US
    I use a USB 3.0 drive. The link is displayed below. As on other drives I've used, playing media directly on it is frustrating. I usually have to try at least twice to get it to play, sometimes more. What I do now is find what I want to play and transfer it to the internal drive. Being usb3 this takes less than 5 minutes and better use of time than the struggle. If I play from the EHD and stop, it isnt in the recall list, so I have to dig again to resume. Transferring is by far the best solution I've found. If I want to save it I transfer it back when finished.

    Transcend 2 TB StoreJet M3 Military Drop Tested USB 3.0 External Hard Drive (TS2TSJ25M3)
     

***

Separate names with a comma.

More...