Hopper 3 to Hopper 3 migration

Altitudinous

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Pub Member / Supporter
Oct 6, 2020
Northern NM, Northeast FL
I went ahead and bought a Hopper 3 (clean reman sealed in Dish plastic) for $120 due to the monthly price changes for owned equipment. It turns out I've been running a reman myself for 4+ years, according to the back label...all this time I assumed I had started with a "new" box! I've looked at some old threads
about HWS or H3 to H3 transfers, and just want to make sure I do this the best way. I'll simply be replacing my leased H3 and with an owned H3, and have one H3 on my account. The Dish site discusses the ethernet cable transfer which I have looked at. I plan to move as much as possible from the old H3 to my 2TB EHD that I've been running for some time, before any H3-to-H3 transfers.

A couple of questions for anyone who has done this.

1. Does the destination H3 need to be activated with Dish and on my account before any H3-to-H3 transfer? I really don't want to disconnect my old H3 from the coax or anything if it is not necessary, and until the new one is ready to be swapped in.
2. Can my existing recording timers and other settings be transferred over to the new H3?
3. I saw some info somewhere that indicated that someone that had problems with the normal ethernet cable menu-driven method ended up using a method inside the diagnostics screens.
Is there a cleaner method inside the diagnostics that would have any advantages?

Thanks for any insights.

When I had to replace a defective new H3, soon to be two, and used the "Ethernet Transfer" method to move programming, it was a dream. I originally had to move from an H2/HWS and that took days and was severely buggy. Although it was a while ago and don't remember exactly, which I will have to refresh myself here soon. It worked very well and for once I had no question if anything was missed or corrupted in the transfer. (It's kinda in what I wrote below.)