Hopper Limit series recordings -- BUG

Leonard Miller

Original poster
Mar 18, 2016
Camden, AR, 71701
I know. I'm new here and probably shouldn't make such a bold statement.

I have a Hopper with Sling, 1 Super Joey, and 2 Joeys. Yes, I'm a novice to DISH, some 2 months. But I gave up DirecTV after 21 1/2 years. However, to solve my recent DISH problem, DISH sent out their field tech to set up the new Hopper they had shipped to me a few days before. It would not install based on their scripted program. The technician had the same problems, bad signal, he said, but finally got going after some 2 house of diligence.

The problem at the root of my call for help?

Go to settings, DVR Timer Defaults, Max. events to keep. I originally had set that Max to 3 and kind of forgot all about it. Weeks later I noticed by pressing DVR button that my series records had gone wild -- Duck Dynasty had stored some 55 recordings, PGA tour, a dozen or so, and on and on.

Long story short, phone tech help couldn't solve it and sent out the new box. Well, the default setting was 20 so I again set it to 3 some 4 days ago. Did the new box help? Nope: Currently, Duck Dynasty has 4 recordings so it has already exceeded the limit of 3.

It didn't really surprise me because what I learned yesterday. I remembered my nephew nearby also has DISH, a similar installation. I went over there and checked out his recordings and his limits. He had no idea there was a limit setting so his was at the default of 20. However, one of his programs on the History channel had already accumulated 51 programs.

Evidence that the limit setting doesn't work.