How can i get 61.5 bird without adding another dish.

ummad72

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Apr 12, 2007
Hilliard, Ohio
Hi Guys,
i believe i have super dish (how can i verify).I'd like to be able to watch international channels. the csr i spoke to said i need to have another dish installed to be able to do so. Ihave seen someone's signature who had superdish and a DPP4 (i belive) for the 61.5 bird. I am a newbie at dish hardware. How can i accomplish this task without having to spend more $$ (on top of international programming) on another dish install tech call. thanx in advance.

Most people don't realize just how far off to the left the 61.5º location is from the 110º and 119º slot. They are almost at right angles from each other. As Randall said, there is no single dish available that hits 110/119/61.5. I will add that there will never be a single dish that can do this.

Which international channels were you after? Some of them are now on 118.75 which can be hit with a Dish 500 Plus. But you would still need a different dish.

sorry, you can't. You need another dish to pick up the 61.5 satellite.
Reason being is that 61.5 is so far away from 110/119 in the sky.

Need a little more info to tell you the cheapest way to do what you are trying to do. How many recievers (and what models) to you have? And do you actually have a Superdish right now. You would be able to tell cause it say's Superdish on the front of the reflector. Or you can go into the menu on the receiver. Go to System Setup, Installation, and then Point Dish. From there select Check Switch an see what satellite locations you are currently picking up. That will also tell us what kind of dish you have. Also, do you know what switches you have? It will also tell you that under the Check Switch screen.

Let us know that stuff and we can tell you what kind of switch's, ect... that you will need to do this.

Welcome to Satellite Guys!!!