How do dvd recorder owners hook to their 508 and HDTV ?

waltinvt

Supporting Founder
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Feb 16, 2004
Vermont
I'm pretty new to dvd recording so these may be dumb questions.

My 508 provides a good sharp picture with an S-Vid connection direct to my 34" widescreen HDTV but when I run S-Vid to my new Panasonic E85 dvd recorder (which goes to the same TV via RGB component cables), the same channel doesn't look anywhere near as good.

I've tried with the E85's progressive scan both on and off and neither looks very good although in different ways. The E85's "television" setting is set to 480p 16:9 and although there are a bunch of other settings (most of which I don't understand), nothing I do seems to improve the pq.

I'm beginning to wonder if I should connect the E85 to the tv with S-Vid instead of component but thought I'd ask here first, since it's a real pain to change anything behind my entertainment center. Besides, commerical widescreen dvds seem to play fine with the E85 through this setup so I'd hate to loose the benifit of progressive scan for those dvds.

WaltinVt