how much of a run is possable

Status
Please reply by conversation.

amicrawler

Original poster
Nov 13, 2007
i have a dish is at 500' from the house

i can get power from the reciver from in the house to the dish but on the way back in the house no signal at the dish i show a signal from the lnb hooked up to my sat buddie 2 is this the wrong finder to use for c-band i have power from the ird 6 volts what my meter reads will i need to reset the arc i do see there is some free and clean analog station on other wesites on amc 4 or has most of the c-band went digtial and ku band i see lots and lots of hd content on this website from spaceway 1,2,3 and others

any ideas .... any would be great to know i'm new to big dish not to the small ugly dish

what do i need to get this to the house ? :D

if i was doing all this i would set up at the dish and tune it with a receiver and tv. ( this way you know you have a good video signal)

once tuned i would try it on your 500 ft run thats already run into the house ( with two breaks).

If that didn't work i would. best you can do is buy a very good shielded coax and run it above ground with no breaks and try that ( you could do this at the dish also still in the box)
any breaks in the coax tend to help loss of signal and become problem points for moisture and could cause powering problems....500 ft is a long run for cheap coax.... its a long run for most any coax.

after that the best option is rg10 ( and it tends to be expensive)

the sat buddy is a great tool but it just finds a signal , it doesn't know what the signal is dvb, dss analog ect.... use it at the dish to find a satellite for the receiver then try to tune the receiver to receive the signal.

good luck

I might add that the foam filled coax is much better.
It sound like you are having problems inside the house too?
Receiver output can be amplified if thats a problem but I wouldnt recommend
it BEFORE the receiver just after.