HR-20 purchase

Status
Please reply by conversation.

render1

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jul 15, 2007
Littleton, Colorado
I'd like to purchase (not lease) an HR20. Have seen some advertised on e-bay with a note that D* may not be willing to activate them. If the seller can provide the receiver ID, is there any way to determine if it can be activated?

I'd like to purchase (not lease) an HR20. Have seen some advertised on e-bay with a note that D* may not be willing to activate them. If the seller can provide the receiver ID, is there any way to determine if it can be activated?
You can call DirecTV and ask. But why do you want to purchase not lease? The monthly charge is the same....

:welcome

There's been tons of threads in the past with the pros and cons of buying versus leasing. Being a cost benefit analyst, I never did buy into the buying conclusion. Its more expensive and it really does nothing for you except get out of your contract earlier. If you plan on jumping early, then why on earth go through spending $800 on a receiver only to have to flip it and take your chances on ebay? And as others have been able to do, you can get out of the lease and usually for a lot less then Directv originally stipulates.

My advice, forget the headache, cost and risk of trying to own one and get yourself a great lease deal especially ones where you can get them for free. It adds nothing extra to your monthly costs and if it dies, Directv replaces it.

If it's sold on eBay, 99% chance you will be screwed because unless the seller paid $750-800 for it originally, it's a lease and they cannot legally sell it. It's a scam.

If you really want to own it then you can order one directly from DirecTV for $750.

I already did this in another thread but I'll do it again here.

Buy/own:
$750 plus $4.99 a month mirror fee

Lease:
$199 to free plus $4.99 a month lease fee

Note, same monthly fee no matter what.