Hughes Personal Earth Station 1.2m dish for FTA?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Bob2011

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jan 5, 2011
Hudson Valley NY
I am new to FTA and was given a Hughes Personal Earth Station dish recently. The dish was installed in 1999 at a business and my guess is its Ku band. It has a large LNB on the front probably since it was a two way data device. The dish is 48" wide by 52" tall if that helps.

My first question is can the LNB installed be used at all. Second if I do buy a new small LNB how do you properly mount it to be in the right focus. Also is there is a cheap way to move this dish a few degrees like from 97 to 101 occasionally.

It may be useful immediately as-is, for reception.
Post us a few pictures of the dish from various angles so we all know what we're talking about.
There are a lot of similar dishes out there, but any time you have one that's 4', it's gonna be outstanding for Ku!

As for moving the dish, do you mean realigning it, or motorizing it?
We have good answers to both. ;)

Bob,

Here is a picture of a 1.2m tx/rx dish that I am using as is, stock for FTA reception. In my case the lnb is single polarity but since I have it pointed at 125w for the PBS stuff don't really need the other polarity. Your dish may have dual polarity, they come both ways.

av6et1.jpg

As for a cheap way to move it, I have one dish set up with a trailer jack.

dg00vq.jpg

Jim

Hughes dish 1.jpgHughes dish 2.jpgHughes dish 4.jpgHughes dish 5.jpgHughes dish 3.jpg

Here are a few pictures of the dish. Jim I am interested in what looks like a hand crank you have in one pic for moving it. Thanks for the help!

Bob,

Your lnb is piggy backed on top like mine. Connect your line directly to it and remove the jumper and other wires as you won't need them.

As for the hand crank, it came off my travel trailer and mounted directly in the 2" clamp originally for thee actuator arm.