I got the HTS System 70 up and running tonight

Status
Please reply by conversation.
Shawn95GT said:
Mike - I just started playing with the frequency adjustment. I needed it on my far West sats G1 / C4. It helped a lot. I found that re-tuning the dish position after fine tuning the skew made for some very nice improvements.

I had the same experience. I started out without a servo motor, which made tuning a bit of a bear. I don't remember which sat, but I do remember that MSNBC was a channel that the freq. made a big difference on. It's on one of the western birds. I also found a few channels where subtle freq. adjustments helped get rid of the last few sparklies.

WyrTwister said:
How deep did you bury the pipe & how much concrete ? Did you concrete fill the pipe ?
Thanks for the info . :)
Wyr
How deep you dig the hole can depend on the climate of the area you are in. In Vermont I have to go down at least 48" to get below the frost line. If you don't go below the frost line (at least in this area) your pole will eventuallly shift. My mount and pole are sturdier than what Shawn used, largly because i have a larger dish (10' vs 5') and also because of the severe weather we get in our region, including high winds and every concievable form of precipitation in large quantitys.
Concrete filling the pole is always a good idea, it really helps to stiffen up the pole. That being said, i ended up going down 5 feet and using 17 bags of ready mix for my pole mount.

WyrTwister said:
How deep did you bury the pipe & how much concrete ? Did you concrete fill the pipe ?
Thanks for the info . :)
Wyr
The pole is just over 3' in the ground. I'd have gone deper but the ground is VERY hard clay here. I used 12 bags of concrete (overkill) and I did fill the pole.

Shawn

Shawn95GT said:
The pole is just over 3' in the ground. I'd have gone deper but the ground is VERY hard clay here. I used 12 bags of concrete (overkill) and I did fill the pole.
Shawn