I like my 522

chingon

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Aug 13, 2004
First off I'm not going to start an argument thread. The complaints on the 522 have been VERY valid I'm sure. I just got mine yesterday so I did not go though the buggier stages like you guys did, keep in mind I'm just starting out and I'm in NO WAY trying to minimize they problems you have had. I switched from the direct tv tivo and so far like the 522 better. Why? In no particular order:

1. PnP. I do like this feature.
2. Caller ID.
2. The remote. I hated the tivo remote. To me the dish one is much better done. This goes to the other direct tv remotes also. The ones in the bedrooms (rca) I hated, they were badly designed and buttons crammed together . I could not do anything without looking at the remote.
3. Favorites. The 522 has 4 modifiable favorites and the tivo only one. I love having several of them.
4. The guide. I like the one on the 522 much better, easier to read for us old fart's. The ones in the bedroom (rca) I could hardly read at all, the 322 I can read easily. When going from the 522 to the 322 the remotes are virtually the same (with the exception of the dvr buttons) as with pretty much all of the dishnetwork remotes.
5. On the rca units (nothing to do with the tivo unit) they always powered up on all channels and I had to go in and select my favorites every single time. The 322 (and other dish units I used) powers up in the last favorites list that you were in.
6. Not a dvr issue again, but I like the sirius music included (at least with the top 180). The installer told me that Dish is going to come out with an optinon to add auto sirius for a little extra (less than what sirius normally is) which would be nice. I'm not relying on this though until I see it.