I started playing with my new 5' mesh last night

Status
Please reply by conversation.
Shawn95GT said:
The dish is aimed at Sol 2 in the pics.

Just wondering if you were able to get any C-BAND channels at Sol 2 and Satmex 5. ?

Cause I've been told that Sol2/Satmex5 both need an 8ft or higher.

Let me know Shawn.. :D

pro-96 said:
Just wondering if you were able to get any C-BAND channels at Sol 2 and Satmex 5. ?

Cause I've been told that Sol2/Satmex5 both need an 8ft or higher.

Let me know Shawn.. :D
Yes on both :cool:

I definately saw content on Sol 2 (I used it for my true South!), Satmex 5 was weak but I did scan in a couple channels - I'll PM you specifics next time I fire it up (I haven't run the ribbon cable yet).

Shawn

More pics

I got the Norsats on the C/Ku feedhorn and I can't wait to fire 'em up.

I tested that the servo motor is indeed good on the feedhorn and it works perfect.

I need to get to trenching that Ribbon cable and put this dish to good use! I can't get over how huge that 8115 is vs the CalAmp one I took off - lol.

Last edited:
The boring part of the install is just crawling along.

Yesterday I strung the ribbon cable and a 10ga solid copper ground wire all the way around the yard and up to the demarc box.

I think I got hosed on my 200' spool of ribbon cable as it's only a tad longer than my 150' length of 10ga wire I just bought.

I still need to trench the wire but I'm going to hold off doing it near the house since I have a termite treatment happening soon. I did tunnel under my poured in concrete edging in the back yard. This went a lot quicker than I expected.

Today I got up the nerve to drill a hole in the side of my house and I installed the wall plate for the ribbon cable. I talked with the cable guy who has to do something similar for my VDSL install and he gave me some pointers which workedout pretty good.