Im A Noob, So Bear With Me

Status
Please reply by conversation.

reeseman

Original poster
Jan 25, 2007
Ok, Im Not Sure If This Is About "hacking" Or Not But Im Not Asking How To Do It Just Asking If It Is. My Friend Just Had Someone Set Him Up A Dish And A Receiver And Now He Gets All Channels, Ppv's, Adult Channels The Works. I Thought He Was Doing It Illegally But Then I Saw The Receiver And It Said It Was A Veiwsat Free To Air Receiver...does That Mean What He Is Doing is Legal? And Those Channels Are Fta?

Ok, Im Not Sure If This Is About "hacking" Or Not But Im Not Asking How To Do It Just Asking If It Is. My Friend Just Had Someone Set Him Up A Dish And A Receiver And Now He Gets All Channels, Ppv's, Adult Channels The Works. I Thought He Was Doing It Illegally But Then I Saw The Receiver And It Said It Was A Veiwsat Free To Air Receiver...does That Mean What He Is Doing is Legal? And Those Channels Are Fta?

off topic, but did you realize you capitalized every word?

Your friend might get all the channels now, but it's only a matter time till he goes dark. Hope he didn't pay alot for the setup.

Does he know this is illegal? Does he care?

Hope he does care... especially since doing that sort of stuff can give him very steep fines, and maybe some jail time... not to mention more costs on equipment when the illegal hack junk breaks his equipment and he won't be able to do anything about it since what he's doing to the equipment is probably causing it to invalidate any warantee and keeping it so that no repairman in their right mind would want to touch it.

mesh, how is the hack stuff affecting his equipment other than possibly down the road bricking the viewsat?

I asked if he cared if he was breaking the law simple to ask if the person cared to pay fines and legal costs.