I'm new here and need some advice on what to buy.

Status
Please reply by conversation.

guyhureelylixehd

Original poster
Nov 21, 2008
I'm new to fta. I've been researching the equipment and would really like some advice from people who know. HD is really important to me. And I would really want video recording capabilities. You know the whole 9 yards. Got any advice. I live in northeast arkansas.:confused:

I'm new to fta. I've been researching the equipment and would really like some advice from people who know. HD is really important to me. And I would really want video recording capabilities. You know the whole 9 yards. Got any advice. I live in northeast arkansas.:confused:

Well, not knowing your experience level, let me say this. To my knowledge there isn't a single receiver that meets all your specs. If you are looking for something that works as seamlessly as a D* or E* DVR, it doesn't exist. Most of the FTA stuff we use is designed for stealing, so its isn't much good for DVR'ing HD feeds. The high bitrate of HD feeds causes the receiver to stutter like an idiot on crack.

Now, if just SD recording is okay, you couldn't go wrong with a Visionsat. Lotsa folks have them here, and they like them. Its a nice box otherwise too.

Dish, well, I reccommend a ground mounted, on a pole cemented in the ground, a 90cm or 1m dish. Old Primestar dishes are perfect for this, but our site sponsors have great deals on starter systems, too. I'd reccommend starting with a stationary system aimed at 123W, Galaxy 18, to get you used to the equipment and aiming the dish. THEN you can consider a motor.

Other folks will be along shortly, to add their opinions, too..stay tuned...

HD for free

Yep, if he wants all the HD stuff, better off with the pay-tv co's right now. There just isn't much free HD-fulltime programming. Funny how they all want to be paid for those tv signals.