I'm still beginning to wonder if my alignment is somewhat off........

Status
Please reply by conversation.

glen4cindy

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Sep 14, 2004
St. Louis MO, area
I've been feed scanning today.

I found a few hits on 99W or so I thought. After the scan, there were a about 10 channels, but, by the time I looked at them, about 30 mins later, there was ZERO quality on all of them.

I tried to scan Ohio News Now, and there was nothing there either.

I went to 91 W - Not Nimiq, and didn't find anything.

On Nimiq, I am scaanning now, I am getting 80% on the first 2 transponders.

I guess those feeds could have come and go before I got to look at them, because I would not think that the box would have "found" a zero quality signal.

Several of the channels I checked on 123W are in the 60%'s

I assume that Saturday afternoon would be a good time scan for feeds, and I checked 74W, 83W, 91W, 99W and didn't even find much.

Will HughesNet transponders give me quality? I checked several of those transponders on the sats listed above and did not get any quality on them. I was using the L side of my LNB to check everything.

Right now, I am scanning to see what FTA I can get on 91W Nimiq with the C side of my LNB.

Just seems like some of my signal readings should be higher, but, with lots of channels on 97W for on being in the 80%'s I'm afraid to mess with my alignment for fear of losing it!

Thanks,

Just did a quick check and ONN is coming nicely with 82%Q. (That's my due south bird here in CT).

Gal 17 at 91W has color bars at 12050 V 13354. with 60%Q.

Seeing Gal 16 at 11771V 14320 with news feeds. 65Q.

It really sounds like you aren't quite tracking the arc properly. One thing I ran into this week, be careful after setting your azimuth when you tighten things down. I didn't want the dish to spin in the wind and actually lost some quality when I snugged down too much. I know I can do better with these numbers but I do track fine from 72W to 129W.