Inexpensive HD FTA receivers from Far East on e-bay

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by polgyver, Jan 22, 2015.

  1. polgyver

    polgyver Topic Starter Creative Tinkerer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Posts:
    440
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    Toronto
    A few weeks ago I ordered two such no-name receivers with 12 V separate power supplies and one which was wall powered. The cost for 12 V was around $ 48 and for 120 v - $ 52 (all Canadian dollars).
    I had really hard time to program 2 of them on my 3-year old 46" LED Samsung TV, as it did not recognize the video format. Had to use RCA cables, and other tricks to set up the 2 receivers and finally got them working.
    Today I used my 24" 3-year old LED Toshiba for programming one of the 12 V receivers, and the programming was a breeze...
    The receivers have graphic interface almost identical to our forum's favourite, micro HD. However, their remote does not interfere with Toshiba TV.
    Got 16 pictures to share, in 2 instalments
    Cheers, polgyver
    IMG_0617.JPG IMG_0619.JPG IMG_0621.JPG IMG_0623.JPG IMG_0624.JPG IMG_0626.JPG IMG_0628.JPG IMG_0630.JPG
     
    spongella, fhsucade07 and jorgek like this.
  2. polgyver

    polgyver Topic Starter Creative Tinkerer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Posts:
    440
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    Toronto
    Remaining 8 pictures :
    IMG_0631.JPG IMG_0632.JPG IMG_0633.JPG IMG_0634.JPG IMG_0635.JPG IMG_0636.JPG IMG_0638.JPG IMG_0640.JPG
     
    fhsucade07 likes this.
  3. schlever

    schlever SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Posts:
    491
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Regina, SK
    I just ordered one of those last week to play with in my shop. Will give it a try and post results when it gets here.
     
  4. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,344
    Likes Received:
    1,408
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Nice pics polgyver. Do you have a link to it? I have a cheap one bookmarked on eBay that I was going to try for tuning at the dish but not sure if this is it. Hopefully all the scans are accurate :D but seriously what scan modes are available besides accurate scan? Thanks!:)
     
    #4 FTA4PA, Jan 22, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2015
  5. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    5,680
    Likes Received:
    5,171
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    It's an Ali chipset, but which one? Snap a photo of the system information screen. Should list the chipset.

    If you open the STB, see what tuner model. From the hardware position, it looks like it could be a PCB mounted IC tuner.
     
    polgyver likes this.
  6. iBoston

    iBoston SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    846
    Location:
    North Central
    It looks like one i bought. The USALS didn't calculate correctly for Western satellites. Verify the USALS works right.
     
  7. Corrado

    Corrado SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,283
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    Hudson Valley Region, NY
    Some of those are selling for $31.91 with free shipping.

    I wouldn't expect any sort of support with a no name product such as this.

    One of the listing states it has the ALI3510 processor.
     
  8. polgyver

    polgyver Topic Starter Creative Tinkerer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Posts:
    440
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    Toronto
    This rec has 3 scan options : auto scan, preset scan and accurate scan.
    More info on photos.
    IMG_0641.JPG IMG_0642.JPG IMG_0643.jpg IMG_0645.JPG IMG_0572.JPG IMG_0592.JPG IMG_0593.JPG
     
    FTA4PA likes this.
  9. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,344
    Likes Received:
    1,408
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Guessing 'accurate scan' is like blind scan then??
     
  10. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    5,680
    Likes Received:
    5,171
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    In the Ali SDK:
    Auto=Blind scan
    Preset=Preprogrammed TPs
    Accurate=Slower TS analysis during service logging

    With the cover on the tuner and the heatsink on the CPU, the hardware build is a guess. If you are really curious about the chipset and tuner, the fins could be heated and removed and the tuner cover removed. The information screen just shows that it is using the generic SDK for the demod. Might download the firmware and look at the code. The chipset and other basic build information is usually displayed unencrypted.
     
    Iceberg and FTA4PA like this.
  11. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,344
    Likes Received:
    1,408
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Thanks Titanium!:)
     
  12. gpflepsen

    gpflepsen Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    254
    Location:
    SE NE
    Oh man, you undoubtedly voided your warranty now! Good luck with any claims! (that was tongue in cheek)...

    Where do these ship from?
     
  13. ken2400

    ken2400 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,160
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Central NY State
    My mother use to say "I give you three guesses and the first two don't count"
    China
     
  14. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    The Lake House
    The screen looks like a SSO (Sathawk/Solomend/Openbox)

    I know the MicroHD has very similar screens too :)
     
  15. Cosmo Blatz

    Cosmo Blatz SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Posts:
    451
    Likes Received:
    257
    Location:
    S.E. WI and Central NV
  16. gpflepsen

    gpflepsen Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    254
    Location:
    SE NE
    I figured it was China somewhere. Isn't is amazing someone can (steal a design) produce a receiver, sell by the piece, and ship a box 1/2 way around the world for less than $40? It cost me probably $20 to send a box coast to coast in the US.
     
  17. Hockeynut

    Hockeynut SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Posts:
    847
    Likes Received:
    695
    Location:
    Sat Farm in NC.
    Curious if anyone has tried the Ali editor with this box for creating a NA sat list?...I wonder would it work?
     
  18. gpflepsen

    gpflepsen Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    254
    Location:
    SE NE
    Would you risk it? I'd hate to get into a situation like the micro hd with the boot loop and corrupt software on a pretty much unsupported receiver. What would you do when there's no documented way to restore the original firmware?
     
  19. Hockeynut

    Hockeynut SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Posts:
    847
    Likes Received:
    695
    Location:
    Sat Farm in NC.
    LOL...Really.?...If killing a 30 dollar receiver is a concern then it may be time to get out of this hobby!!!..Now if the Ali editor works to create a NA list this is a great deal....Some folks may not care about a proper sat list but for myself I am a stickler like that...Just the other day I seen that Intelsat 16 at 79 was active and updated all my receivers with an up to date list..That is just me..
     
    Iceberg likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...