Install DISH on 6 TVs

ml6223

Original poster
Nov 12, 2005
I am a newbie to this forum. I need suggestions on the best way to have DISH available on 6 TVs in my home (I have a big family). I used the online chat to ask Dish about it. On the first 4 tvs they would provide two dual tuner receivers. For the 4th and 5th TV I would have to pay $425 for the purchase and installation of an addition dual tuner receiver. Is this reasonable? I notice that radio shack is selling the receiver for $149. Can I buy the additional receiver and install myself? Another option is to to mirror one of the 4 tvs on the 5th and 6th set. The installation cost starts at $59. How difficult would it be for me to do this myself? Does anyone have any other suggestions? Has anyone had more than 4 TVs installed?
:)

Honestly I think you should do the first one from Dish and the rest you buy yourself because honestly it'll cost you $10 every month with those extra receivers unless you're doing HD in which case if you're going whole hog and get whatever new channels become available I would HIGHLY suggest you pay $5 for one because it's cheaper than shelling out for an 811 which they will most likely replace if you're dedicated to paying for extra HD programming.

Dish may not sell 322's but Radioshack is i just looked. Also I'm sure DishStore probably does, they sell everything you need to do your install by yourself.

If I own my own receiver, I assume I would not have to pay the extra receiver fee. Does anyone know if this is true?

Also, what else do I need besides the receiver? Are instructions included?

Thanks for your help!!!!

This is what I got at the Dish Network site:

"2 ROOMS WITH DVR CAPABILITY

Add a monthly $5.00 access fee for each receiver beyond the first.
Add a monthly DISH Video-On-Demand Service Fee of $4.98 for each DISH Player-DVR 510 and each DISH Player-DVR 625 multi-room receiver.
Add a monthly $9.99 DISH Network HD Pak subscription fee for the DISH 811 HD solution.