Installation and HD upgrade help needed

Bob338

Original poster
Aug 6, 2007
Apologies for a LONG post but I need help and education. I’m a total newbie.

This initial installation was done by a very competent man no longer in my area. He did it while I was busy building 6 years ago and I left it up to him as I knew/know nothing. Initially we installed an old model, 3 LNB dish put out by DirecTV, ran it to three receivers, two Dish and the other DirecTV and all has worked fine. I’m upgrading to HD and making some changes to the distribution of signals, hopefully to have 4 boxes. D* was cancelled and I’m going totally with E*, ordered in early July.

PROBLEM #1. The Dish folks sent two installers who advised they could do everything I wanted but had no replacement dish for the roof mount, stated I didn’t require it, and advised they were not authorized nor instructed on climbing a tile roof. Installation aborted. That the replacement dish wasn’t needed raised my doubts.

The antenna signals in the current system come through the roof mounted dish that feeds 4 lines down two levels to an equipment room through a 1½” conduit and mast. All feed single cables from there to every room in the house, 6 rooms on the ground level (upper level) and three more in the sub-ground level (lower level,) the same level as the equipment room. There are also speakers in the upper level rooms that feed satellite music from the equipment room.