Installation and Wiring questions

fishfreak53

Original poster
Sep 6, 2013
United States
I'm sorry if this information has been posted before, I did a search but I am not knowledgeable enough to know exactly what I'm looking for.

I am a new customer to Dish Network and for certain reasons opted to wire and install the dish myself. It may seem foolish, because I have little knowledge of what is required, but the decision has been made. So to get things started I'll let you know what I have. My programing is America's top 250 with HD. My Dish is oval shaped, has 3 LNB's and says Dish HD on it. My receiver is a DVR receiver model number Vip722k DVR.

So my situation is this. I dont have any coax RG6 cable ran thought the house, and My dish doesnt have any wires coming out of it, so I dont know where I should go from here? I only have one receiver, which i believe can run two televisions. One in HD and one in SD. Can anyone give me a crude setup of how many RG6 wires I need to run to my dish, and which ports I need to hook up to in the dish? Do I need a switch if I'm only running one TV or can I just run one RG6 cable from my dish straight into my receiver? My receiver came with a "splitter" that has one "input" and then three outputs, "Sat 1" "Sat 2" and "home Distrubution" also for what its worth. I'm assuming that goes to the back of the receiver?

Once thats all done, a short walk through of aiming the dish would be a huge help. I've looked online about elevation, Azm, and skew. Just dont know what setting I need my receiver to be on. My zip code is 49913.

Thanks for any help, you guys have been great so far!

-Nolan

Did you decide to go this route in order to avoid a 24 month commitment? It doesn't hurt to try and do it yourself but if you struggle you will save yourself a lot of frustration by just paying a professional to do it.