Installation Help Dish Pro Plus

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

WiCkeDuDe

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Nov 16, 2005
Utah
Hello all,
I have a few questions on my install I want to complete. I am not a newbie exactly but im a bit confused on these new switches and DPP stuff. Heres the problem:

Current I have a DP twin (Not legacy) LNBF with two cables run into the house to a DVR 522 unit. I want to go to a 3 receiver system, probually add a 301 receiver.

As I understand this I cannot add a SW34 here as it wont work with the 522 and/or the twin? I would need to get a DPP44 instead for this to work correctly?

That is a very costly option. I dont have access to run another cable to the dish on the roof so I would like to do this with just the two cables I have now.

It is my understanding I could buy the DPP Twin and use a DS seperator to run the 522 and 301? This would be cheaper than buying the DPP44 switch.

Can anyone tell me if I am missing a better/easier/cheaper way to do this? Or is what I have researched correct? Any help would be great. Thanks!

Yes you would be able to use the existing runs you have now and swap the DP Twin for a DP+ Twin and put a separator on one of the runs and have the two outs from that go into the 522. The other run can then go to the 301.

The 522 will work with any switch and or lnbf configuration, a dp twin and 34 will work with a 522 easily. Go with the 34 switch added into the current system and all you have to do is run the third line from the switch to the 311's location.

Van said: