Installing Dish Today!! (help)

BMAC22

Original poster
Sep 28, 2008
Hey guys, i'm a newbie to the forums as well as a new member to Dish as of today. (Well installation is today) This forum looks great and I look forward to becoming a member of the satelliteguys community!!

Anyway i'm making the switch from Comcast to Dish and I have some questions as I want to be sure I get setup correctly with the right equipment and Dish placement. These will probably seem like some very basic questions to you guys but like I said, Im a newbie to the satellite world.

The package I choose was the Top 200 + Silver HD + DVR + Locals (also the promo for hbo, starz and cinemax.)

If I can get a few simple questions answered before my install later today, that'd be great.

1- First off the house i'm renting actually has a Dish hooked up to it from a previous renter. Should I be sure this Dish gets replaced with a new/updated dish? If so, what model should I expect or hope the installer has?

2- I live in Eugene, OR and I saw on the Dish site that the locals are not in HD for this area. Am I going to be able to get Abc, Nbc, Cbs and Fox in HD? If not do I need some kind of antenna? If so, which one do you suggest?

3- What model of receiver should I expect the installer to have to ensure my HD DVR capabilities and max performance?

Pretty basic questions I know...... Also, is there anything in particular I should ask my installer or anything in particular I should be sure the installer does?? Any tips or information will be greatly appreciated!! Thanks in advance.

1. Yes or no, the dish may be fine if it previously had HD, you will probably get new lnb's even if the old ones are there. If previously there was no HD there, you may either get a new dish or a second dish in order to pick up the additional HD.