Invacom L/C LNB + SG-2100 + SV-4000 Issues

Status
Please reply by conversation.

asmodee

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Dec 1, 2007
Being that I'm new to motorized Ku-band dishes, I decided to have a preofessional installer install the dish and set everything up, unfortunately they seem to not be so good and I'm left with some problems.

Equipment:

DMS International SG-2100 motor
85cm dish
Invacom Quad output (2 linear + 2 circular) LNB
Sonicview SV-4000 receiver

I bought everything but the receiver as a package. The receiver came with a 4x1 DiSEqC switch. What the installers found is that when you connect the switch between the receiver and the motor, the motor gets no power. The receiver must be connected directly to the motor in order to make it function, but since the receiver has only one IF input, I can't use both the L and C outputs of the LNB.

The manual for the SV-4000 has no mention of how to connect it to a motor, even though it has motor control functionality in the menu. The motor's manual also doesn't show the case with a dual output LNB. And the LNB manual also doesn't have a diagram for my specific case.

What I'm wondering is what is the proper way to connect this? The installers connected as follows:

1. Circular output of LNB to motor
2. Linear output of LNB to switch
3. Motor to switch
4. Switch to receiver

Is this a valid configuration? As I said, the motor doesn't seem to get power when the switch is in the way. They also tried connecting the motor on different ports of the switch. I seem to think there may be an issue with the receiver setup, but I'm new, so what do I know?

My other thought was to rewire this as follows:

1. Linear output of LNB to switch
2. Circular output of LNB to switch
3. Switch to motor
4. Motor to receiver