Is the new Dish dual OTA tuner as sensitive as the TiVo Bolt?

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by edisonprime, Oct 28, 2018.

  1. edisonprime

    edisonprime Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    570
    Location:
    55901
    I ordered my dual tuner a couple days ago on eBay and it arrives on Tuesday. How sensitive is it?
     
  2. MikeD-C05

    MikeD-C05 Pub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Posts:
    24,047
    Likes Received:
    11,784
    Location:
    Nederland , Texas
    It doesn't like to be touched unless you take it to dinner and a movie first.:biggrin
     
    sam_gordon, ncted, Jon J and 7 others like this.
  3. John Nv

    John Nv Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Dayton, NV
    I don't know about the Tivo, but I can tell you the AirTV dual tuner adapter isn't as sensitive as my LG TV. Supposedly the AirTV adapter is made by the same company (Lark) as the new Dish dual tuner. The AirTV adapter does work on my HWS and it seems to be more stable than the old Dish dual tuner, but it does lose signal and pixelate where my LG does not.
     
    TheKrell likes this.
  4. edisonprime

    edisonprime Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    570
    Location:
    55901
    :clapping:clappingLOL!! Good one!:clapping:clapping
     
    MikeD-C05 and charlesrshell like this.
  5. sxmfan2018

    sxmfan2018 SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    los angeles
    :clapping:D
     
    MikeD-C05 and charlesrshell like this.
  6. sxmfan2018

    sxmfan2018 SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    los angeles
    i def wanna try the dual tuner ota dongle on my hopper. i know if i plug an antenna into my bedroom t.v. i get 150 channels OTA. it would be interesting to see how well it preforms on a hopper 3. and if it works well call dish and cancel the locals and save 12.00-13.00 a month that works for me:amen
     
  7. Tommyy2

    Tommyy2 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Posts:
    23
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Texas
    Someone posted that it was not as good as the tuner in their LG TV.
     
    sxmfan2018 likes this.
  8. Apologist

    Apologist SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Posts:
    501
    Likes Received:
    15
    In the three days that I have used it I gotten excellent results. Of course time will tell if it’s better than the old single usb tuner but so far so good. I’m pretty fringe and get dropouts on occasion but I need to test this over a longer period.
     
  9. edisonprime

    edisonprime Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    570
    Location:
    55901
    I’d probably drop my locals too if it weren’t for me wanting my “moved” market and Primetime Anytime.
     
    crodrules and comfortably_numb like this.
  10. DishSubLA

    DishSubLA SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,829
    Likes Received:
    739
    IMHO, the dish USB dual OTA tuner performs better than the TiVo Roamio or Bolt (I do not own a Bolt, but it has been confirmed by the techies at the TCF that the Bolt uses the very same OTA tuner as the Romio). Implementation and software can produce a difference in performance of the very same OTA tuner.

    FWIW, the older generation Dish ViP built-in OTA and the later two tuner module for ViP performed the same as the TiVo Series 3, which was very good (I believe those tuners for TiVo and Dish were from the same manufacturer, which may explain why they performed identical) and better than the current dish USB dual tuner in my estimation.

    As a rule, OTA tuners in televisions seem to perform the best.
     
  11. sxmfan2018

    sxmfan2018 SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    los angeles
    i shut off the primetime on my hopper as i don't watch half the crap that's on during prime time!!! though like you said about your moved market i would have to resubscribe to my locals after i moved :(
     
  12. sxmfan2018

    sxmfan2018 SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    los angeles
    i read that to tommy!! the t.v. in my bedroom is a 65 inch TCL and the tuner on that is awsome and my other t.v. is a sony XBR77A1E. i have never hooked an antenna up to it so i don't know how good it is on the sony. and my dealings with LG were not good i would not buy anything LG or lifes garbage again!!! LG is nothing more than the old goldstar brand if you remember them with a different badge on it
     
  13. bnewt

    bnewt SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Posts:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    166
    Location:
    Shepherdsville, Ky
    wasn't goldstar a rebrand of zeneith?
     
  14. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    45,181
    Likes Received:
    10,240
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Lucky Goldstar bought Zenith. The brand name, at least.


    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
     
    JSheridan and charlesrshell like this.
  15. Tommyy2

    Tommyy2 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Posts:
    23
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Texas
    As far as LG, they make very nice OLED TVs, and their OLED panels are in Sony, Panasonic, etc, etc.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  16. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    45,181
    Likes Received:
    10,240
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Yep. And Sony circuitry makes better use of those panels.

    And in the long run, Samsung’s approach to OLED will win out. We just need a (miracle) major technological advance or two. It’ll happen.


    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  17. fredelkamp

    fredelkamp Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2018
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Fort Washington, MD
    My new AirTV dual tuner picks up 39 channels, my Dish single tuner picks up 60 channels, my Bolt picks up 51 channels and My old TiVoHD picks up 76 channels. Guess which one I use?
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  18. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    7,365
    Likes Received:
    2,338
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Keep doing scans for your AirTV dual tuner. It may pick up additional channels. I had this issue too but finally I got the the rest of the channels or close to it.
     
    crodrules likes this.
  19. Cheddar_Head

    Cheddar_Head SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Posts:
    308
    Likes Received:
    340
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Samsung doesn't make OLED anymore, the make QLED which is named so you can confuse the two, QLED is a normal LED/LCD TV with Quantum dots for additional color gamut.
     
  20. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    45,181
    Likes Received:
    10,240
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Nope. I know the difference. Samsung still has their OLED research going, and I believe may have announced a future return to the product category. In the long run, getting rid of the filters LG uses for their “white” OLED will result in more efficiency and probably quicker, easier fabrication (fewer components).

    Samsung leads in OLED displays for phones.


    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
     
    charlesrshell likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...